We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amato's Sandwich Shops

Amato's Sandwich Shops
Ranked #234 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
A TripAdvisor Member
“Surprising good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a quick and easy bite to take to the hotel when we got to town. We wanted a traditional italian sub, but accidentally ordered the REAL italian sub. As we were leaving we realized it was only and ham and cheese. We were preparing ourselves to be disappointed, but it was So Good! The staff was very friendly and made several recommendations on local things to do once they realized we were on vacation. Nice surprise from a sandwich shop!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    4
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE AMATOS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A Maine tradition - best REAL Italian in the WORLD. Simple and delicious - love the bread, cheese, pickles, olive, onion etc. A must, must, must have when in Maine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiSun4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

During our visit to Portland, we stopped at Amato's for a sandwich. We had the roast beef and it was outstanding. Everything was fresh and the pickles added a nice touch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ibskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The italian is a family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I grew up on Amato's REAL italian sandwhiches. They are made with a homemade hoagie roll, ham, white american cheese, RIPE tomato, onion, kalamata olives, green pepper, salt, pepper, olive oil and their signature sour pickles. It can be the dead of winter and they still get the best ripe tomatoes around. Stop off and pick up a few to take the lake or out on the boat. Real Maine here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good cheap Italian Food - great late night hours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stopped by and grabbed food to go from this joint 3x in two days. The people were always friendly and the good was constantly good. The bread they use for the sandwiches was soft and fluffy and great. The pasta and the sausages were excellent. Skip the salads. They are open really late which is very convenient, especially in that neighborhood where restaurants seem to close a bit early. Not much decor - we grabbed the food and ate elsewhere. The waterfront is a short downhill walk away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LawGod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amato's Sandwich Shops also viewed

 

Been to Amato's Sandwich Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing