We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first taste of Tony's donuts”
Review of Tony's Donut Shop

Tony's Donut Shop
Ranked #7 of 28 Bakeries in Portland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“My first taste of Tony's donuts”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I heard they were good and finally stopped by to try them. I got a raised glazed and a strawberry jelly. The texture of the dough is different from what I'm used to. Not too much glaze but there was a sweetness to the dough itself so it didn't need much glaze at all. The strawberry jelly had not glaze or sugar coating, just the dough filled with jelly. I didn't love the jelly filling. Didn't find it too flavorful. Not sure if they have other flavors of jelly because I just bought the first one I saw.

I would try these again but go for the cake stye donuts to see how those taste. I think cake style is more popular in Maine. Overall these were not overly sweet which for many is a good thing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond delicious!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We discovered this gem by reading Trip Advisor reviews--this has made our stay in Portland better than ever. We got a large selection of donuts to try & all of them were moist & delicious. The jelly donut had an amazing pull-apart texture & the jelly was great, too. The lemon filled was just as tasty, and the glazed was like eating fried dough w/I having to visit the shore. The chocolate glazed was also good. No donut selection will disappoint!

Helpful?
Thank WensThinkingSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing donuts!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I ALWAYS stop at Tony's every time we visit Portland. The donuts are so delicious. Always very fresh, and they have that good old fashioned taste. Everything has such a nice, "home made" taste to it. And they have lots of unique flavors that you won't find at some boring chain. The atmosphere is really homey and cozy. Make sure to give them a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best old fashioned donuts & pastries in Portland”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Tony's is a Portland landmark. No frills, just great pastries and "sinker" donuts. The staff is great and the prices are very reasonable. Tony's does things the treid & true way--good ingredients, great recipes, and the end results are always a treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kasbahfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You HAVE to go here!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stumbled on this place staying at the Clarion Hotel across the street! They have without a doubt the absolute best donuts and pastries I've ever had ... and I've had a LOT! If you happen to be anywhere in the vicinity, you owe it to yourself to visit and pick up a bag full of whatever strikes your fancy - you won't be disappointed. On second thought, pick up TWO bags full - you'll want to have some extras to share or wolf down yourself later.

This place is da BOMB!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morris91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Donut Shop also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing