We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable room, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room, great stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Portland for 4 nights. The room was large and clean. I was worried it might be loud because of their airport, but I heard nothing. It is only about 10-15 minutes to downtown Portland. I had considered staying downtown, but was put off by the cost of downtown hotel rooms. However, we ended up being very happy with our choice. This hotel was great and the short drive to Portland was no big deal. With the exception of one rude/unhelpful individual, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have a great breakfast (with an omelet station) and manager's cocktail hour—both of which are included in the price. I am not normally one to eat hotel breakfast or go to manager's cocktail hour, but we ended up trying both and were happily surprised by them! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure there are no youth soccer leagues staying on your floor. (I think this was rare, but the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear KatieR,

Thank you so much for your review from your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you gave us a try over the downtown hotels and were happy with your choice! I would like to apologize for your encounter with a rude staff member. This is not the standard I expect from the staff and I'm truly sorry to hear that you had an encounter with one person that was not up to our usual level.
We are, as you mentioned popular with traveling sports teams and take extra steps such as pre assigning groups and hiring outside security during these events. If you return to Portland please feel free to call in advance to see if we have any groups scheduled that may impact your next stay.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    332
    94
    26
    15
See reviews for
529
390
35
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We have been guests at this hotel several times and would definitely return here again. We travel with two children and the room layout in a suite (2 separate rooms), great breakfast with cooked to order omlettes and managers reception all work really well for us. It is a short drive to the Maine Mall and restaurants and close to the highway. I do however agree with the comments of some others that the hotel is starting to show its age in the rooms and corridors. Nothing serious but if you are a frequent guest you can see this coming on. Also, on this visit there was an odd smell in the corridor which had not been the case on previous stays.Our room was fine though. We had a good stay overall and would return again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The property is not your typical embassy suites, there is no atrium and no water feature but that does nothing to detract. The property is a bit older and not really close to anything walking except the airport BUT the staff is awesome. The managers reception is far above most and the food is fantastic. The prices are reasonable.... Great for a hotel.... And the quality is superior. The rooms are clean and the lobby is truly a gathering spot. Monday's there is a band that plays a mix at a softer volume. Overall, a really good property to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buldog5470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

On a recent trip to the Maine coast with my family, we stayed 2 nights at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Portland, Maine. We've stayed at Embassy Suites before and like the comraderie of the Manager's Reception in the evening, the extra space offered by the suite-style rooms, and the extensive breakfast buffet. This hotel met our expectations, but did not provide us with an extraordinary experience.

The staff was friendly and efficient. We arrived and were checked into our room within minutes. The room itself was a suite style room with a separate living area and a bedroom. However, the layout of the room did feel small compared to other suite-style rooms we've stayed in before. There was barely enough room to walk around the two double beds in the bedroom. The living room was large enough to hold a sectional couch, but it was a tight fit. It was big enough, but don't set your expectations too high when you think you're staying in a lavish suite.

The Manager's Reception was a nice touch. There was cheese & crackers, chips & salsa, veggies and dips. Platters weren't refilled, so the food was pretty picked over by the time we arrived at 7pm (Reception is from 5:30p-7:30p).

The breakfast buffet was standard hotel free buffet fare. There was a good variety of items available and it seemed fresh and hot. Nothing was outstanding, but there was certainly something for everyone.

However, the room did show some signs of wear and tear. The edges of the sofa were worn and the bathroom needed and update - dark stains in the caulking, etc. While the room was clean, it just looked old and dated. In no way did this impact our comfort, but I expeced a bit better for the price that I was paying for the room and from an Embassy Suite hotel.

The fitness center had a great selection of equipment. The indoor pool was a decent size and there were plenty of chairs surrounding it. The nearby jaccuzzi tub needed a refinishing. The blue paint was faded/chipped off. Again, the tub was fully functional - but it just looked old and dated.

There are several lodging options in the Portland/South Portland area. I think that I would look elsewhere for our next trip before booking here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here one night on our way up to Bar Harbor, generally impressed and up to standard for this class of hotel.
Staff were helpful and friendly, bright and clean public areas, room fine.
The best part was the breakfast, lots of choice and fresh made omelettes by the cook, just the thing for a good start to the day.
I was initially worried about the chance of aircraft noise when I booked but I did'nt hear a thing.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at the Embassy Suites located near the Jetport for one night. Didn't initially book the park, stay and fly package, as it was more expensive than just leaving the car in the long term lot. Once I got to the hotel, I asked about purchasing 5 nights of parking. It ended up being cheaper all around...Yay! BTW, no issues with the car when we returned from our trip.
We booked a King Suite and stayed in Room 508, which is across from the elevators. This room is at the back of the hotel with a view of the Jetport. We usually like to be on the top floor, but that floor (6th) is reserved for Platinum members. No noise issues with being close to the Jetport or the elevators, but hubby did hear kids in the hallway running around. The room has enough space for 2 adults max. The living room and bedroom are on the small size with the bathroom in between. With the exception of a rather dirty exhaust fan in the bathroom, the room was clean and neat. Nice toiletries from Crabtree and Evelyn. The bed was comfy. I wish there could have been something other than down pillows. The hairdryer could have used a bit more power, but got the job done. The lighting in the toilet/shower area was poor.
Every night there's a manager's party from 5:30pm to 7:30pm....I think. Free alcoholic and no-alcoholic drinks, free munchies...cheese crackers, veggies/dip, chips, etc....and an awesome banana bread with chocolate chips and nuts on top. There is also a restaurant on the premises; moderate prices. We ordered the Chicken BLAT for $8-9 (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato)...very tasty, despite the unappetizing name.
The lobby was clean, the lobby bathroom was clean, the shuttle to the airport, a very nice SUV, was also clean...and timely. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and courteous. If you need a hotel right at the Jetport, this is the one to stay at....and I've stayed at both!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savys_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

For a 4-night trip to the general Portland area in June, we selected this hotel because the prices in downtown Portland were just too high, given that we wouldn’t be spending all the time in downtown Portland. The free hot breakfast was great: chef making omelets to order, make-it-yourself fresh waffles, chafing dishes with scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage as well as cold cereal, pastries, beverages. The evening reception was fine, some drinks made at the bar and appetizers such as veggies and dip, cheese and crackers.

The room and facilities were in good condition. They have indoor pool , whirlpool, and gym

Although just my husband and I were staying there, when we travel we appreciate having the separate living room in case one of us gets up earlier than the other or wants to stay up later. There were flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room. The kitchen area consisted of a half-height refrigerator, sink, and microwave with no other “kitchen” items.

Th location is out-of-the way which I realized before we booked. You definitely need a car. It’s about a 10-15 drive to downtown Portland depending on where you’re going and we never found any heavy traffic. If you stay at this hotel be sure to get directions (Google maps or GPS) because it’s somewhat tricky to locate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seek-scenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing