We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Hate Thin Floors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I Hate Thin Floors”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I picked this hotel since it had good reviews, I was extremely disappointed. The people above me must have been throwing around suitcases or bodies and it was loud and didn't stop til midnight and started again around 7am, so I slept very poorly. Overpriced to me. If you stay here get a room on the top floor, which I should have done. Location is convenient though. I wish hotels that served "hot" breakfast would realize that food in those silver warming trays never stays hot. I was happy I only stayed here two nights.

Room Tip: Top floor only. If not available go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyPortlandGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear proftravlr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy neighbors and thin floors. I hope you will contact me directly at stacy.oreilly@hilton.com or 207-482-4360 when you next travel to Portland so we can make sure your next stay meets your expectations.

Best Regards,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    338
    100
    29
    18
See reviews for
559
400
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed in Embassy Suites all over the US and this is by far the best one I have ever stayed in. Hotel is updated and very clean, there is plenty of parking and it is free, rooms are arranged different that typical Embassy, but that is alright because they are slighty bigger. If you get upgraded you will get to enjoy the free vending machines they have on floors 5 & 6. Overall great hotel. Would come back again if I was in Portland.

Pros: great location, excellent staff,
Cons: small breakfast area, can hear airport noise when planes leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear TSP2014,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind words. The complimentary vending machine you mentioned in your review, is part of a new program at many Embassy Suites, nationwide. We have created a new class of room: our Premium Suites. These suites include unlimited snacks and drinks from the vending cabinet, faster wi-fi access, and a few in-room enhancements, including Keurig k-cup hot beverage makers! We're glad you enjoyed one of these suites and hope to see you back again!

Best Regards,
Timothy Prosser
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Every year, thousands of parents flock to Portland for a Saturday night stay before visiting their children at sleep away camp. We are no different. But for the past five years, we have not been particularly thrilled with any of the mediocre choices, until now. The Embassy Suites in Portland had it all. The price, although extremely high for this city, is competitive with the other hotels on this big weekend. The hotel included free drink tickets, a complimentary snack buffet and a full hot breakfast. There was a fire pit outside at night. The bar was open late and the room was huge. It is truly a suite with an outer sitting area and tons of room. We will only stay here going forward, when we need an easy place to stay in Portland for visiting day. They also have a pool, spa and fitness center but we were not there long enough to enjoy these facilities.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet. Not sure which side it was on but we were on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Adams, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Would avoid this restaurant for dinner. New chef we were served RANCID mussels ordered two appetizers and were told 15 minutes later we don't have any.We love Embassy Suites but this dinner was totally unacceptable and ruined our stay. Morning breakfast and Managers Reception were fabulous. The room was clean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWMGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear James,
I would like to apologize for the quality of your dinner and would appreciate the opportunity to follow-up with you, directly. We take great pride in the quality of our service and I am surprised, and disturbed to hear about your experience. As you said in your review, this is unacceptable and I would like to make things right with you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I would be very grateful if you could contact me at 207-775-2200 or tim.prosser@hilton.com.

Sincerely,

Tim Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located right next to the airport but you can be downtown in the touristy area within 15 minutes. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast and nightly cocktail hour are consistent with other ES hotels that I have stayed at. I was here on business and will definitely choose the property again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Island100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWMGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Island100,
Thank you so much for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate your support. We look forward to hosting you on your future visits and making each a pleasant and memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Tim Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you do not mind driving into this hornet's nest of a city, the hotel is ok. Bring plenty of quarters or better yet dollar bills for parking..you are going to need them! It is a good 15 minutes drive into the city and then the fun part begins. This city might as well be Manhattan when it comes to parking.

Meters..Only $1 per hour with a maximum of two hours..YOU CANNOT FEED THE METER. So, if you are taking a tour lasting more than two hours, park in one of their many private lots..There are no municipal lots created for tourists. Plenty of private lots though. They range from $30 to only $45 for the day. Enjoy!

Room Tip: stay in town
See more room tips
Green Features: If you stay here, be prepared for a horrible parking experience downtown.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILUVFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I really could not find a negative to say about it. The rooms were clean, well stocked and refurbished. If I had to complain, the a/c was the old type, in the wall and noisy but that is about it. The breakfast was excellent, the evening cocktail hour, just as good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,391 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing