We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed for two nights. The inn provided free van transportation from the train station (we arrived on the Downeaster Amtrak train). The hotel is a good value for the money and is located right across from area shopping (groceries, small local shopping mall). We had a microwave and small refrigerator in the room, also free wi-fi. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and there was a small indoor heated pool available. The inn is walking distance from the Portland city bus route so we used public transportation to go in and out of Portland for two days (it's great to be car-free for a vacation). We ate dinner in the inn restaurant the first night and the food was good. Oh, and did I mention the free whoopee pies given out at check-in? Yummy. We would choose this inn again for our next trip trip to Portland. It isn't real fancy but it is clean, a good value, and the staff is pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland. It's always good to know that our efforts are appreciated and that we are successful in making our guests' stays as comfortable as possible. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
( As for the Whoopies--we agree, they are delicious! )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Very average- modest at best. Advertised to be at the airport, but it was a not that close.
Lots of rooms, noisy at times. Desk staff friendly, but not professional. Don't look for amenities like the Hilton or other higher end chains. If you just need a bed it will do, but for the same money you can do better. There was a small indoor pool- if you can take the strong clorine odor. In the middle of lots of roads and freeways.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the ground floor- no luggage carts around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were welcomed by a very friendly front desk staff. We stayed two nights on a weekend for shopping. The hotel is very large and confusing, but after a few tries found our way around. Our first room was on the main floor and it seemed very damp and smelly. We had just gotten in and hoardes of families with children running wild in the hallways arrived. I went to the front desk and asked if we could be moved to upstairs, and they quickly accomadated us. That room was basically the same but didn't have the dampness. Found the bathroom a bit small and the toilet, sink and shower head all very low. Everything was clean and worked well. I think the hotel needs a renovation.
The offered breakfast was not very good so I skipped it entirely though the others did use it.
One of us enjoyed the hot tub and we used the outdoor pool which was very clean. I liked the patio area to sit in the morning having a coffee.
Lots of parking available. The hallway carpets were a bit dirty but I attribute that to all the kids that were running the halls.
All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dargamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at The Fireside Inn as part of a family holiday in August this year. The hotel is well appointed and staff were friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was good but a bit limited. My son was delighted to be given a free whoopie pie on check-in. Rooms were a good size. We were offered the opportunity of having a microwave and fridge for an extra $15 a night which I felt was a bit steep and as we were booked in for five nights I felt this could have been included as a goodwill gesture. The indoor and outdoor pools (which are heated) are an added attraction and we made use of both during our stay.

The only thing I found disappointing was the very small pillows provided - smaller than standard size and awkward to use.

While it is true that the hotel is not exactly central if you do not have a car - it is easy to get into town by bus or by taxi. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to the train station and airport which is well worth remembering - although you do need to book this in advance.

All in all we had a most enjoyable stay and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Good size for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOSOXKidNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We planned a very impromptu trip to Maine with our teenagers for a weekend and were lucky enough to find availability at the Fireside Inn. When we checked in Saturday afternoon, the place was booked up and there was still a line at the desk checking to see if anything was open. We took this as a good sign. Our room was clean and clean smelling, the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Breakfast in the morning was hot and well stocked, although we could not find a cup of coffee ANYWHERE in the building. All caraffes were empty. Other than that one tiny little thing... our stay was wonderful. The pools are heated and the bar was inviting. Happy Happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The staff of the Fireside Inn were wonderful and friendly. We stayed at the hotel to better accommodate an early flight and they were wonderful about getting us a shuttle to the airport. They even paid for our cab back to the hotel when our flight returned a few days later. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The desk crew and shuttle driver were very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kait R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago with a hockey team. The good: large rooms, close to highway, free WiFi, nice outdoor pool, nice indoor pool, friendly staff.
The bad: the rooms were damp! After a shower everything was dripping wet. The place is a little confusing as it is spread out in many different wings. One good thing about that though, is you can part near your room. Also, the shower in our room was painful! Something about the spray was just sharp and hurt to stand under it. I tried to turn the head to adjust the spray, but you couldn't.
Overall, this hotel was just okay. It looks like they are doing a lot of renos though, so we may look at staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,760 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing