We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$171
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
167
217
153
84
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
217
153
84
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhoopie piesoutdoor poolcontinental breakfastroom was cleanhot tubchecking inyogurthotel restaurantking bedfireplacerateskeurigsaunarefrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Fireside Inn surely was at some point a good hotel, possibly even a Holiday Inn as a old van in the back of the hotel may suggests. Now its just a run down hotel where bussloads are being dumped due to low priced rooms.
Locates just by the I95 the noise level is impressing, as are the neighbours of the Fireside Inn: Burger King and shops that sell all kind of stuff.
We are on a round trip and thankfully only a night there. Everywhere are signs of wear, be it doors, carpets or interior fittings. The dirty carpets on the stair and hallway give a indication of how this hotel is run. The room has got a rather specific smell, and once opened the window is difficult to shut (american trucks are great, but they are loud). The hairdryer is loaded with dirt and dust, the AC hangs half dismounted in its fitting. We really regret staying here, while we passed so many lovely Motels and Inns on the A1 coming from Boston.
Why the coffee maker stands in the toilet is a mystery to me, I drink my coffee else where. There are many more little things to add, but I hope I have given an idea. In light of things we have decided to skip breakfast here.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip to Portland with us. We are very sorry to hear we didn’t meet your expectations. We are constantly improving our property and are in the process of adding flat screen TVs and Keruig coffee makers in our rooms. We are also working on some new rooms which will be available by the end of the year. We welcome any kind of feedback so we may continue on improving our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We just spent two nights at the Fireside Inn in Portland Maine. After reading some of the negative reviews on trip advisor, my wife and I were very apprehensive. We communicated our concerns with their front end manager who assured us our stay would be a pleasant one. She was right, our two night stay was just fine. Upon arrival we were greeted by two friendly ladies staffing the front desk. Check in was very smooth. The hotel and the rooms are a little worn and a little dated but the room was very clean. However, the musty smell in the elevator was very strong and should be addressed. The room had two double beds and overlooked the courtyard We booked our rooms through one of the travel web sites and paid a reduced rate as compared to the Firesides published rates. The drive into Old Portland is about 10 minutes.

The price we paid for a three star rated hotel was a very good value compared to other hotels in the area. Our feeling is the rating on the travel website of three stars is accurate and given what we paid for the room, we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyindahood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience online regarding your stay at the Fireside Inn Portland. We appreciate it! I am glad to hear your concerns were answered and well taken care of. Our goal is to provide spotlessly clean rooms, superior service and hospitality. We hope to accommodate you on future trips to the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The rooms were spacious and we were delighted with the Dog bowl and Whoopie pies. Clean and kept up we had adjoining rooms that made it fun to hang out later with our friends. The hotel was not too far from the center of town for the price on a weekend. Pool was nice and it seems like alot of weddings take place there with a area for a gathering or party.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are great for friends to visit.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland. We are happy to hear you (and your pet!) enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate gatherings at our property. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland for one night. I shopped all over the place for a hotel that was pet friendly but not overboard with the extra charges. All of the rooms at fireside are pet friendly and only charge $10 per night for a pet. The downside is the room was 171.15 including taxes to start with. We decided to go with the fireside because we love the Fireside in West Lebanon NH and had the expectation this one would be just as nice. We had a king size courtyard view room. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was tiny. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were tight, fresh and clean. The TV was an old outdated thing with a lousy picture. The decor was old and showing its age. The downside to the courtyard room was we couldn't go into the courtyard and enjoy it. Dogs are not allowed there. So we could only look at it. Since we couldn't leave the dog in the room alone we ordered room service from the onsite restaurant, Zackery’s. We found the food to be pricey but it was very tasty. So being pricey is ok since the food was delicious. The free continental breakfast was ok, nothing special. Overall this is an ok hotel. It needs some updating in my opinion and until that is done it is not worth what they are charging.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback of your stay with us at Fireside Inn Portland. We are happy we could accommodate you and your four legged friend. We have many different types of rooms at many different prices, the courtyard rooms are more because they offer more (a view of the courtyard, a quieter location, microwave, and fridge). We are working on getting flat screen TVs in every room. Our restaurant staff is pleased to hear you enjoyed your room service, and we all hope you will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the fireside this evening and I did not have a room and o asked the man and women doing the bags where my room was they said go to the front desk to get a room they were rude. I went there and no one helped me till the guy greg who meet our bus said he would help me and another woman who also did not have a room found her a room also. Greg was also very.nice at dinner. I ussally do not complain but dinner and our greeting was good but the baggage and desk people were rude and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us during your bus tour trip. We are happy to be accommodating more and more bus tours like yours each year! Your business is important to us, and we apologize you were not completely satisfied. There was an unfortunate error with the rooming list we received for your bus group. The fax machine had actually left off a bottom portion of the list. We are glad to hear this error was taken care of and you received a comfortable room to stay in. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the tour dinner. We hope you will consider us again the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews