We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were here for 2 nights in one of the fireplace rooms. From my first phone call to reserve the room until we checked out it was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean and comfortable and the fireplace added a nice ambience. The Keurig coffee maker is a real treat as is the Bath and Bodyworks toiletries in the bathroom. We tried both the included contintental breakfast and the restaurant menu as well as having dinner onsite (room service one night and restaurant the next). The food portions were large and the quality was good and the service was excellent on all occasions. It's rare to go to a hotel where every single employee, without exception, is friendly, pleasant and helpful but that was exactly the case here. They truly had a great deal to do with making the stay so nice. We are already planning to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the outdoor pool are a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 969maurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Wow, thank you very much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your experience from beginning to end. Our fireplace rooms are so cozy this time of year; we're in the process of adding even more to our rooms! Please come back to visit us soon, we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here last weekend. feb 7-8. Stayed here as employer got a discount. Room was in fairly good condition. There were quite a few black ants under bathroom sink. TV was outdated, most places I stay have nice flat screens now not old box style TV''s anymore. Pool was nice, but small. Had 3 young boys swearing there. It''s located right off the lobby, so thought an employee would check in there at times. Staff was pleasant and check in was quick. continental breakfast leaves much to be desired, however the hot breakfast was very good ordering off the menu. they gave us a $10 off coupon at check in to use toward breakfast or dinner. host, think his name was Aubrey, was nice but overbearing. repeatedly kept talking to us and while trying to eat. was a little annoying. Felt was ok deal for discounted rate, but would have been disappointed if had paid full price

Room Tip: WE got a king room. bed was large but very firm. I like a softer mattress, so did not sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Portland, ME Fireside Inn and Suites. We appreciate knowing what went well and what we can improve on. We are very sorry for the problem you experienced with your bathroom. Your review does not mention if you let any of our staff know of this issue. That is something we'd want to take care of right away. We should also mention we are in the process of upgrading our TVs to flat screens. Some of our rooms already have them, and we'd be happy to find you one on your next visit should you try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The room was very clean plenty of towels and the staff were very friendly, acknowledging and greeting me every time I walked past the front desk. The $10 coupon was a nice touch to experience the dining area. The beds were a bit uncomfortable The food was good and continental breakfast had good variety. However lunch was not offered and made it a bit challenging during the competition. They were very accommodating to our competition. It was nice to relax in the front lobby area by the fireplace on couches while waiting for the afternoon competition setup. It felt like being at home in your own living room

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites during your trip to the Portland, ME area. Thank you for taking the time to review us; we appreciate it! It sounds like we succeeded in our goal to provide spotlessly clean rooms, exceptional customer service and hospitality. Our lobby fireplace is very relaxing, especially this time of year! We hope you'll come see us again the next time you travel to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a very delightful visit at your hote. The only thing I can say is that the beds were not very comfortable. A bit hard and gave both my husband and myself back aches in the morning. Our daughter, however, slept like a baby.
Food in the restaurant was delicious! Pool was very clean and warm. Our daughter had a wonderful time swimming as did we.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in our onsite restaurant, Zackery's. Our indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub sure are nice during the wintertime! During the summertime we open our outdoor pool which is also heated, and located in our beautiful garden courtyard. We hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is our Go-To hotel whenever we stay over for a night or two in Portland. The rooms are clean, the pillow-top beds are comfortable. The $10 credit toward breakfast was an unexpected treat on yesterday's visit. The price is very affordable. I appreciated the in room ref rig. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The complementary "woopie pies" made a nice middle of the night snack. It was interesting and thoughtful that the pool has an adaptive swivel access chair.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience online with us regarding your stay at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. It's beneficial to know what we're doing right and what can be improved on. We are happy to hear you've enjoyed staying with us on more than one occasion. On your next trip ask about our "Welcome Home Club" Rewards Program! Yes, we also agree the handicapped adaptive chair for our pool is a great addition to our property! The outdoor pool has this as well as the indoor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Have stayed for 12-15 nights per year for approx. the last 10 years. Lost a min. 1 star when it left the Holiday Inn chain, but still OK value for money. Rooms are OK and being serviced OK. Very, very friendly staff.
Negative side: If you are a smoker: Pretty poor facility for smokers!
The reward programme works really well.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area is an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knud Frisenborg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing us and sharing your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to do this, and for your continued business at our hotel. As many other hotels, restaurants, and facilities in Maine are choosing to be “smoke free”, we are happy to offer a 100% smoke free building too. We hope you are able to take advantage of our smoking section outside the building while you stay with us. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff as well; they are fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My girlfriend and I were shopping and looking for a nice clean and safe place to stay. They were helpful (my reservations got lost but they still accommodated us) and we were happy to have a yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay in Portland at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are happy our staff was able to accommodate you and your girlfriend and were helpful in finding you a room. Our complimentary continental breakfast is offered every morning, and we also have a restaurant which serves a hot breakfast and dinner option. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,749 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
610 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing