We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rates, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here overnight before flying out of Portland airport. Price was right, rooms were older but clean and quiet. Nice pool area and lobby. Location was handy to Maine Mall and airport. Shuttle bus was on time and picked us up when we got back within 15 minutes of calling, driver was friendly and helpful. Imagine my surprise today when we received a package in the mail (we live in Canada) with a pair of socks that my daughter had left behind! How thoughtful, I would never have expected them to do that. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in the Portland area. We appreciate your positive feedback. Our Park and Fly Package is a great value; it includes the hotel room, 3 weeks parking, complimentary shuttle service, and complimentary breakfast! We work hard to provide friendly customer service, and part of that is returning items left behind by guests whenever possible. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for a night because my so was leaving for a sport team related trip. The accommodations were fine for the reason we were there. My biggest complaint however was the cigarette smell that permeated the halls. There were several people standing outside by the doorways smoking and the smell followed them in. Thankfully it did not follow us into our room!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Fireside Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the Portland area. We apologize for the smoky smell in the hall way coming from people outside. We are a non-smoking property and have designated smoking areas around the outside of the building – away from entrances. Please consider staying with us again the next time you’re in town. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was a great value. Beautiful room overlooking the court yard. The fireplace was perfect on a cold Maine weekend and well worth the few extra dollars. The Friday night entertainment was perfect. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorinda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Our hotel has 6 rooms with fireplaces, 2 of which are suites. They certainly are great during the wintertime! Please come back again soon and join us on another Friday evening. We have live bands every Friday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel lobby was clean but as for the rooms, curtains were stained, carpet was old and the tv was also very old. I felt the rooms had a little bit of an old smell as well. We went to check out the Jacuzzi out around 10:15pm and they shut the lights off on us at 10:40, which I understand they shut down at 11pm but I felt it was rude. Vending machine didn't work by our room. The restaurant inside the hotel was the WORST food I have tasted in my life. They said roasted red potatoes and they were just boiled, My sirloin tips were just a steak cut into fatty over- cooked strips. I asked for them without onions and when the waitress returned my plate they had just taken the onions out because I found one. What if I was allergic? My husband ordered the stuffed haddock with lobster sauce, the stuffing was rock hard and the sauce was white. So our experience was horrible which was very disappointing since it was a night away from our 3 children that we don't get often.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize for the problems and disappointments you experienced during your stay. Thank you for letting the server in the restaurant know about your disappointment so they were able to comp your meal. This is not the norm here at our hotel, and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will help us improve our hotel and services that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My family and I stayed at the Fireside and we loved our stay.
We loved how close it was to the airport, the pool was wonderful and the restaurant had a great selection and the food was delicious.
Extremely comfortable beds!!!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice rooms. comfy beds. great staff. Easy check in. We did stay, park and fly. Left our car for 2.5 weeks, they had it all cleaned off upon our return. They couldn't get us from the airport but told us to take a taxi and they'd reimburse, which they did no problem. Great beds, great rates and the restaurant had excellent food and service. Nice pool, sauna, workout equipment, free Wi-Fi. Can't say enough good, will definetly be back!

Room Tip: We had king bed that was just great. The whole room was, I think the whole hotel must be nice based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Wow, thank you for such great feedback about your stay with us at Fireside Inn and Suites. Your review describes our hotel perfectly; thank you for sharing with the online community. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were here for 2 nights in one of the fireplace rooms. From my first phone call to reserve the room until we checked out it was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean and comfortable and the fireplace added a nice ambience. The Keurig coffee maker is a real treat as is the Bath and Bodyworks toiletries in the bathroom. We tried both the included contintental breakfast and the restaurant menu as well as having dinner onsite (room service one night and restaurant the next). The food portions were large and the quality was good and the service was excellent on all occasions. It's rare to go to a hotel where every single employee, without exception, is friendly, pleasant and helpful but that was exactly the case here. They truly had a great deal to do with making the stay so nice. We are already planning to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the outdoor pool are a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 969maurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Wow, thank you very much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your experience from beginning to end. Our fireplace rooms are so cozy this time of year; we're in the process of adding even more to our rooms! Please come back to visit us soon, we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £60 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing