We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all you needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were booked into this hotel from our travel rewards program and took it based primarily on location
The hotel meets all your needs, has all the amenities you could want but the building itself is starting to show signs of age and the layout could be better. No one wants to have to walk straight through the main lobby and past all the conference rooms to get to the gym. They have all the things you need to make for a great gym/spa experience but the equipment is in desperate need up an upgrade, there too the layout of the spa/gym is not very accommodating. Also the lounge should be more flexible with their closing time. I can see why a hotel bar would shut down early if they didn't have customers, but when it does they should really accommodate the hotel guests till the state law permits.

Room Tip: rooms facing into the center of the hotel might have a view of the outside pool, wouldn't know o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brutus313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed our location and many complimentary amenities. We appreciate all types of feedback, the good and the not so good, so we may continue to improve our hotel and it's services for you. We hope you'll come stay with us again the next time you're in Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent three nights in this very comfortable fireplace suite. There was a separate bedroom and two baths. Check in and check out were quick and easy. The free continental breakfast consisted of yogurt, fruit, muffins, bagels, breads, coffee and juice.The host at the restaurant was very friendly. Upon check in we received a coupon worth $5 or $10 in the restaurant, depending on how much you spend. Full breakfasts and dinner are available. So is room service.

We learned we were just across the street from a large supermarket and several restaurants. It also was a short drive to downtown Portland and the turnpike. It was a good choice for us.

Room Tip: The elevator is near door #1. That could be a good location on any floor if you have much luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for the lovely review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were comfortable. We would love to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself in Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is what you would expect from an off-brand hotel in the suburbs close to the highway. Average room, but clean. Breakfast functional but not as good as the chains. They do have a nice garden,and rooms facing the garden are likely quieter. Fitness room was small. Overall fine, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Portland. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hospitality. Our fitness room has several options for exercise, as well as a dry sauna and Jacuzzi hot tub. Our courtyard garden is beautiful this time of year! We hope you'll consider us on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend.

Overall, it was alright. Room has a strong smell, but clean overall.

The continent breakfast was a bit better than expected. It had pancakes, hard boiled eggs, mini bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, and yogurt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuckyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the included continental breakfast surpassed your expectations. Please come visit us again on your next trip to Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. A basic hotel, somewhat dated. Our daughter was amused by the old CRT-style TV...ah, youth today...

The rooms were okay, maybe could have been slightly cleaner, but not horrible. For the price though ($70/nt) through a pre-paid site, it would be hard to complain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. It sounds like you enjoyed our city on the holiday weekend. We hope you will come to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Considering that we found this hotel for a relatively cheap price on Memorial Day weekend, it would be VERY hard to find fault with our stay. Is the hotel dated and in need of a bit of a renovation? Sure. But the location was great, the staff were friendly, the room was quiet and comfortable enough, and there was no cigarette smell. The clock in the room was set an hour and a half fast (which we didn't notice until the morning after a late night arrival), the old tube TV's picture was more blue than white, and the continental breakfast's only hot item was a dated pancake-a-minute machine... but these were truly inconsequential to us. In short, no reason why we wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank carpDeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to let us know how we’re doing! We are currently working on upgrading all the TVs in our hotel guestrooms; right now our courtyard rooms have flat screens but most of the standard rooms do not. We have 196 rooms so we there are a lot of things we are continuously working on to serve our customers better. While the continental breakfast is free to guests, we also have a wonderful restaurant serving hot food items off a menu. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is seriously dated. I could feel the springs in the bed and the TV was an old CRT box style which I haven't seen in years. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't shower unless the door was completely closed.

On the plus side, it was clean, the location was good with several restaurants nearby and ample parking.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank traceyincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are working on acquiring new flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms, as well as renovations in general. Our hotel is an older building, but we have been making great strides to update things. We have some wonderful fireplace rooms and suites that offer flat screen TVs, new paint and carpet, and a beautiful view of our courtyard. Please try us out again the next time you’re in the area so we can show you these improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing