We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Fireside Inn and Suites for one night during a recent trip and found it acceptable but nothing more. The staff was friendly and the check-in and check-out process was efficient. The hotel wasn't in excellent condition, but it also wasn't in poor condition. The room was ok--fine, but nothing spectacular. The breakfast was sub par in my opinion. We were excited because the hotel has a restaurant inside, and when we heard there was a breakfast buffet, we assumed it would include food similar to what a restaurant might actually offer on the menu. We were sadly mistaken, however, and instead found a very basic continental breakfast like many budget hotels offer. We thought the meal might be saved by the pancake "machine" that automatically spits out pancakes in 1-2 minutes, but we found them extremely rubbery and they had an odd flavor. The highlight of our stay was most certainly the free whoopie pies we received when checking in. Overall, there was nothing terrible about our experience, but it wasn't especially enjoyable either. For a short stay of 1 or 2 nights, if you are only looking for an adequate place to sleep for the night, this hotel is probably ok. If we go to Portland again, we will probably consider other options... though, depending on the price of the other options, we may or may not opt to stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay! We appreciate your comments so we know what we are doing well and what can be improved on. We do offer a complimentary continental breakfast for all our guests with mostly cold items like fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, etc. The restaurant is open for breakfast, too, and has plenty of hot items to pick from. It sounds like that would be a better option for you next time. As you have discovered, many other hotels in the Portland area offer the same amount, or fewer, amenities, but with a higher price tag. We hope the value you experienced with your price will bring you back to us on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    184
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
174
171
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were booked into this hotel from our travel rewards program and took it based primarily on location
The hotel meets all your needs, has all the amenities you could want but the building itself is starting to show signs of age and the layout could be better. No one wants to have to walk straight through the main lobby and past all the conference rooms to get to the gym. They have all the things you need to make for a great gym/spa experience but the equipment is in desperate need up an upgrade, there too the layout of the spa/gym is not very accommodating. Also the lounge should be more flexible with their closing time. I can see why a hotel bar would shut down early if they didn't have customers, but when it does they should really accommodate the hotel guests till the state law permits.

Room Tip: rooms facing into the center of the hotel might have a view of the outside pool, wouldn't know o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brutus313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed our location and many complimentary amenities. We appreciate all types of feedback, the good and the not so good, so we may continue to improve our hotel and it's services for you. We hope you'll come stay with us again the next time you're in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
304 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent three nights in this very comfortable fireplace suite. There was a separate bedroom and two baths. Check in and check out were quick and easy. The free continental breakfast consisted of yogurt, fruit, muffins, bagels, breads, coffee and juice.The host at the restaurant was very friendly. Upon check in we received a coupon worth $5 or $10 in the restaurant, depending on how much you spend. Full breakfasts and dinner are available. So is room service.

We learned we were just across the street from a large supermarket and several restaurants. It also was a short drive to downtown Portland and the turnpike. It was a good choice for us.

Room Tip: The elevator is near door #1. That could be a good location on any floor if you have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for the lovely review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were comfortable. We would love to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is what you would expect from an off-brand hotel in the suburbs close to the highway. Average room, but clean. Breakfast functional but not as good as the chains. They do have a nice garden,and rooms facing the garden are likely quieter. Fitness room was small. Overall fine, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Portland. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hospitality. Our fitness room has several options for exercise, as well as a dry sauna and Jacuzzi hot tub. Our courtyard garden is beautiful this time of year! We hope you'll consider us on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend.

Overall, it was alright. Room has a strong smell, but clean overall.

The continent breakfast was a bit better than expected. It had pancakes, hard boiled eggs, mini bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, and yogurt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the included continental breakfast surpassed your expectations. Please come visit us again on your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. A basic hotel, somewhat dated. Our daughter was amused by the old CRT-style TV...ah, youth today...

The rooms were okay, maybe could have been slightly cleaner, but not horrible. For the price though ($70/nt) through a pre-paid site, it would be hard to complain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. It sounds like you enjoyed our city on the holiday weekend. We hope you will come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Considering that we found this hotel for a relatively cheap price on Memorial Day weekend, it would be VERY hard to find fault with our stay. Is the hotel dated and in need of a bit of a renovation? Sure. But the location was great, the staff were friendly, the room was quiet and comfortable enough, and there was no cigarette smell. The clock in the room was set an hour and a half fast (which we didn't notice until the morning after a late night arrival), the old tube TV's picture was more blue than white, and the continental breakfast's only hot item was a dated pancake-a-minute machine... but these were truly inconsequential to us. In short, no reason why we wouldn't stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank carpDeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to let us know how we’re doing! We are currently working on upgrading all the TVs in our hotel guestrooms; right now our courtyard rooms have flat screens but most of the standard rooms do not. We have 196 rooms so we there are a lot of things we are continuously working on to serve our customers better. While the continental breakfast is free to guests, we also have a wonderful restaurant serving hot food items off a menu. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing