We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything BUT the WiFi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was a Holiday Inn which became a Fireside about 4 1/2 years ago we were told. There are some fun bits still around testifying to it's past (including Holiday Inn labels on the duvet covers) but the mangement and ownership have done a super job of maintaining the place and adding to it. The pools (indoor and out) are great, the courtyard and gazebo are a fun addition, and they have a free continental breakfast complete with (really!) a pancake machine which with a push of a button spits out a fresh pancake in about 60 seconds! Staff in the dining room are especially friendly, and Andre who is one of the managers really goes out of his way! As far as the room, it was more than adequate with a real desk and work area, nice bathroom (though housekeeping was a bit spotty with some days us getting two towels as we were two people and other days one but a call or stop at the maid's cart remedied that quickly). The room was OK clean (though we do wish they'd check behind the curtains and dust and vacuum back there a bit more often as we seemed to step on odds and ends when we went there to open or close the drapes) and there also was an issue with checking things between guests. We opened the mini-fridge to find the previous guest left us a half-eaten container of ice cream in the freezer! The above said please do NOT get any ideas this place is less-than-great because it is very nice, was our "home" for a week while working in Portland and we'd for sure stay again. Even the guest coin laundry was clean, convenient and a life-saver when the underwear ran out!

The only real downside (and management said "we hear this a LOT") is that the WiFi is TERRIBLE. It is free and sometimes one gets what one pays for. This is such a case as connection speeds were widely varied, and often there was a failure to connect at all. Add to that things like being cut off between downloads of e-mails (remember we were here to work in Portland) and having to call a "tech support" number when we phoned the desk about the WiFi a couple times when it refused to work at all and finding the tech support was in India or somewhere and not able to understand much English added to the frustration! I feel the desk or management should deal with tech support---not the guests!!! We were told by staff when we mentioned the WiFo issue that they "have spent a lot" on upgrdes and perhaps that's so but regardless, it failed to work much of the time, failed to work right all of the time and in our room often quit totally. It was nice to have an excuse to use the great pools (one indoors and one out) but the boss was none too happy with our lack of follow-ups on e-mails and internet work as it simply would not let us log on much of the time.

One final note: The hotel is well-built. A couple buses of under 16-year-old campers and backpackers stayed two of the nights and we did not hear a peep. Even the counsellors apologized at breakfast when they saw us come in and we told them "For what? We did not hear a thing!" If the kids were that loud the hotel's walls were that good. Bravo as we slept great and hope they enjoyed their outdoor experience when they went to local attractions each day.

Room Tip: Ask for one with decent WiFi if that's important to you as we are told "some are better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lilamadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Sharing this review while still here on our stay. Overall our experience has been great. The hotel is nothing fancy, but we knew that. The major issue we have is the so called "free" wifi. Its free alright, if you can connect anywhere other than the lobby. Complained numerous times to the front desk and they said there is nothing they could do really except give us a 1-800 number to call. Called the number and they said nothing we can do. Complained back to the hotel and got a sorry nothing we can do. Wifi was one of the main reason we booked this hotel. To say I am disappointed is an understatement. Unless they can guarantee the problem is fixed, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your experience. We apologize for the problems you had with the complimentary Wi-Fi service, and that we weren’t able to get this resolved during your stay with us. We understand how disappointing it is when something that should work doesn’t and is beyond anyone’s control. We have taken many steps in improving our Wi-Fi service in the past couple of months by upgrading our service and routers. We will continue our efforts and hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The quality of this hotel was far below what I was expected for a room listed at $200+ a night. Sure it's in Maine and it's the summer, but for those prices they can afford to provide a little more upscale of an experience. The Fireside Inn and Suites is a 2-story hotel next to the highway and a gas station. The rooms are very dated and shabby, with old CRT televisions, the most basic of bathroom amenities (shampoo and conditioner only, with bath soap available upon request) and Wi-Fi that did not work. The carpet was old and tattered, the beds were certainly not luxurious and the location was well below average, being next to a highway. It's a 15-minute drive to the Old Port and the hotel does not provide shuttle service to this desirable destination. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us so we can use it to better improve our hotel and guest experience. The problems you experienced concern us; this review does not describe a typical visit here. We would like to address a few things. We are in the process of upgrading all our TVs from the older style to newer flat screen models. Some of our rooms have them currently. Our Bath and Body bathroom products usually get rave reviews – but there should have been soap in your room, that’s certainly not a request item. Our complimentary Wi-Fi service has been upgraded within the past couple months with new routers and a better service plan. We apologize it wasn’t working well during your stay. Our complimentary shuttle service is on call for the Airport, Bus, and Train Station. While we aren’t able to take you into Downtown Portland, we offer coupons for taxi service at the front desk. Many guests find us to be a good value outside of the downtown area where prices are much steeper. The concerns with your room are being addressed with our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments. We wish we could have accommodated you in another room had we known of these concerns during your actual stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland on a Saturday night to avoid the pricier options downtown. Got it through Priceline at an excellent rate. The first floor room they initially booked me in smelled of stale smoke - but when I complained, they IMMEDIATELY moved me from the "Priceline" bloc of rooms to a larger room on the second floor. It's nothing fancy, but very clean, easy drive to downtown Portland (only stay here if you have a car) and despite being close to the highway, very quiet. Definitely exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor for newer, no smoke smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JTK20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear the Front Desk staff did a fantastic job in getting your room relocated. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking, so we apologize if the last guest broke the rules in that room. We are glad to have exceeded your expectations and hope you will return the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the first week of July as a stop on our motorcycling tour. When we entered our room we noticed a stale smell almost like old tobacco smoke. We soon realised it was because of the damp. We tried opening sealed windows and failed. We noticed the wallpaper coming away from the wall below the ceiling. The extractor fan in the bathroom appeared to be inactive and left the bathroom even damper. I filled in the "Tell Us How We Did" form and handed it in at checkout as we left. I told the receptionist that the room was daml and smelly and she replied that it was because it had been raining. I suspect that my form hit the bin before I was through the door.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reiterate your concerns about the room. We apologize for the issues you experienced. It is true that during your visit we experienced rain storms every day with high humidity; this could have caused some discomfort in the room. If we had known you were experiencing any of these problems before you checked out with us we could have easily switched your room, or fixed the problems, so you’d enjoy your stay and be more comfortable. Your comment card was in fact received by our General Manager and he let the Housekeeping Manager know the issues you experienced so they could be corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great place to stay on vacation. We spent 5 nights there and will definitely stay there again. The free continental breakfast is good and a great way to start the day. It is a good location and allowed us to travel around but get back to the hotel to relax and have a swim. The staff were great and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, the friendliness of the staff, the food in the restaurant, and the pool. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stay often and love it each time! Rooms are awesome, very clean and comfy! The breakfast is great and the service from all that work there is super! Can't wait to stay again this summer! We will always use this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainergirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks so much for writing your review on TripAdvisor. Everyone here appreciates the kind words. We are always striving to offer our guest the best service and make them feel at home. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are in Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,713 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
601 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing