We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but building showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway. The kids love using pools, so the idea of an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a hot tub appealed to us.
Our room was ready upon check in. Everything in the place is adequate, but nothing here is going to "wow" you. We were pleasantly surprised to see Bath & Body Works soaps in the bathroom. The hotel is definitely dated with an overall 1970's feel to it. The outdoor pool was warm and we enjoyed it. There was no overwhelming smell of chlorine as other reviewers had commented. The indoor pool was a little more refreshing. The workout room was on site - small but adequate. The location was easy to find right off the highway with a convenient grocery store and shopping plaza across the street in case you forget any necessities. We did walk past some other rooms being cleaned that had Pergo hardwood floors and looked more updated. Request one of those rooms if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hopkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is abhorrent. I did a business event at this hotel and they wouldn't even allow me, the presenter, to have a late checkout. I usually go for a run during the lunch break and they just flat out refused.

I asked to speak with the owner but he never called back... they mentioned he never had a cell phone so the only way to contact him was to leave a message at the bangor facility. Again... NO CALL BACK!

If you plan on doing business, or even coming for a pleasurable experience here, I would recommend thinking twice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room. The hotel is very antiquated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brassil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are confused by context of this review considering the front desk staff granted you a 2 hour late checkout. We also noticed you had the same complaint of another hotel you stayed in and reviewed on TripAdvisor.
Late checkouts are based on availability. When we are sold out, which we were the weekend you stayed, we are not able to accommodate late checkout requests. We do this to guarantee guests will be able to check in by 3:00pm. We love being able to honor late checkout requests when available; normally, 9 times out of 10, it is no problem at all. We are happy we were able to give you the late checkout you wanted; perhaps this review was posted prematurely?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After such a wonderful experience at the Fireside Inn and Suites in New Hampshire we were hopeful that this would be similar at the one in Portland ME. Unfortunately, not even close!! The cleanliness in NH was so much better. Our room was dirty, stained rugs and ceilings, rust spots in the bathroom, yikes so disappointing. The room smelled and the overall experience was very poor. The pool had way too much chlorine and was so warm it was difficult to swim in. The service was adequate but no where near the level we experienced in NH. We are not overly picky or hard to please but safe to say we will never stay at a Fireside Inn, with the exception of the one in NH, again! :(

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fireside Inn for a reunion. All of the staff were great, from check in to check out.
Our room had an odd smell to it, not sure if it was the cleaning stuff our not. But that is the only complaint we had.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingx4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The front desk staff was friendly and courteous....breakfast manager Aundray was very engaging and friendly...lacks an elevator in the back section. Cleanliness of bathroom needs improvement. Excellent location for I95 and not too far from Old Port and DT. Many shopping areas and eating places and a Hannaford Supermarket is nearby plus Shaw's/Osco. Seems to be catering to seniors and tour groups these days. Probably not worth the listed price....try to get a better rate by bid which we did. It was probably worth what we paid for four nights during peak tourist season last week: July 25 - 28. Breakfast was a weak point but they just installed an automatic pancake maker machine....tasted pretty good...an upgrade in my opinion!!

Room Tip: Use a bidding service to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great rate, out dated rooms but they are clean. stopped here for one night on way home and would stay again. heated outdoor pool was highlight of the stay. Continental breakfast needs to have more selection.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ABDZThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable visit this weekend. The rooms and continental breakfast are simple but we'll set up and clean. I probably had six different contacts with staff all of them were very friendly and looking forward to helping us. There's a nice warm pool outside. Attached to the spa there is a decent four person hot tub and a really nice sauna that probably fits ten. And they give you a whoopie pies at check-in! I plan to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Avalon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
618 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £59 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing