We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what hotels should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This is what hotels should be”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This hotel has everything from microwave oven to refrigerator, sofa beds for the kids and indoor pool, not to mention the most friendly staff I've seen in years. It's definitely worth every penny I've spent.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaqxswcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    595
    347
    121
    55
See reviews for
538
529
134
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here while on route to Florida and used the park and fly option. It was a great value for us, the hotel was nice and clean, service was great. Check in was easy and shuttle to and from the airport was great. Definitely recommend to anyone flying out of Portland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headingsouth2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Bang for your buck. Great facilities, staff and unbeatable deals. Simply the best!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The room was clean and very quiet; I had two very relaxing nights in a comfortable bed here early in December. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for painting; it would have been nice to know that in advance. And they do not offer breakfast. Wireless internet was free, but very slow. But the location is great and the price is very attractive. One word of warning: don't eat at the Friendly's next door. I ate there twice and the service was unbelievably bad.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed for 3 nights as we were visiting relatives in Portland. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. It is right off I95 which makes it very convenient. The most important item in any stay for us is cleanliness and this hotel gets an A+++++ There are 2 restaurants connected to the hotel via walkways which makes it very convenient in the winter time. They do not offer complimentary breakfasts or coffee/tea in the lobby (there is a mini coffee maker in the rooms) so the restaurants are handy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gransuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I've stayed here 3 times now in the last 3 months, all times with my husband and dog. I've had a very pleasant experience each time and the rates are extremely reasonable. Once I even left my brand new jacket there accidently and by the time I realized it, it was a month later. I was shocked and thrilled when I called the hotel and they said they still had it and would gladly send it to me! Furthermore, the staff is so friendly, helpful and willing to work with you. Would certainly recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dex1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This was my 3rd time staying here in the past 13 months. It has clean rooms. Extra mirror and sink outside of the bathroom comes in handy when one is showering and the other person is trying to get ready. The lobby is nicely decorated. Friendly's is attached to the hotel which comes in handy. The staff is great. Each year I email to have a thanksgiving day paper set aside for me for the ads. When I arrive the paper is waiting for me. Only 10 minutes drive to the mall and other major shopping. Kohl's is down the street. Will definately stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jclarkHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing