We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at Howard Johnson Plaza Portland for three nights last week. We had read the other reviews and thought it was worth a try. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a clean, well-decorated and friendly hotel. Our room had a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There was no noise from the highway. Seasons restaurant in the hotel was excellent. In fact, we had dinner there twice. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who was staying in the Portland area. The price was more than reasonable compared to the other hotels in the region.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which backed on to a small courtyard. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1910Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,550 - 1,556 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we go on a trip or just staying overnight in Portland. It is the staff that makes us come back. The place is clean and we find the place to be quiet. We now book well ahead of time because the secret is out about this hotel. Also the shuttle drivers are great and no matter what time early morning 4:30am or near midnight they are very friendly. Keep up the customer service and you'll need to add on to the place as everyone will want to stay there. Also the price is great.
The Bourassa Family

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaB892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Excellent hotel, very clean, great customer service..After a bad experience at HOJO's in Bangor we had second thoughts about staying at another but there was no comparison, like day and night. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPORTERNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Very reasonably priced. The Seasons restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty good and has a bar you can eat in as well. Forget the Friendly's next door, it's not worth a visit. If you are in the mood for breakfast, go to the Denny's just a few blocks away. I liked this hotel and would stay again. I stayed here to run in the Maine Marathon. It was very convenient and close to everything (if you have a car). There is a decent gym with two treadmills (one worked well) and some other machines. Also has a pool. The only issue is that when it rained you could not gain entry to the side of the building with your room key card. They really need to fix the side entrance to the hotel to make it more secure and to make it work better. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningOnAndOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed 6 nites at this hotel. The room was large and both the room and the bathroom were very clean. Loved the patio! The hotel was booked to capacity every nite yet I felt I had alot of privacy. The hotel staff were EXCEPTIONAL. They were polite,courteous and always took the time to acknowledge you. They always had a smile on their face! :) Unfortunately it rained on a few days of our visit so having Season's Grill and Friendly's connected to the hotel was a plus. The price of the rooms were the best in the area. Some of the hotels were cheaper but after driving by them I understand why! I would definately recommend this hotel and if I ever have the opportunity to visit Portland again, they have my business!

Room Tip: This is only a few miles from the airport on the interstate. Rates are considerably cheaper than by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel really isn't bad, but I had one major issue with it - we had a king size bed, but the space was obviously designed for a smaller one. Although the room was spacious, the bed was almost against the wall on one side, leaving less than a foot of space between them, making that side very difficult to get into. It also left no room for a night stand, and although it had a reading lamp (installed on the wall above the bed), it was controlled from the other side. We couldn't just move the bed, as there were switches and an outlet on the wall on the other end, that the bed would have blocked. Clearly, they just changed the bed to a larger size, and didn't bother getting an electrician to move the switches. To reiterate, the room had loads of space on the other side.
The small space between the bed and the wall was obviously hard to clean, and harbored various dust bunnies.

Another point was that there was no vent in the bathroom, so any vapor from the shower could only go out into the room itself.

The hotel is clean and the staff were friendly. The area isn't very nice, but convenient if you need the I-95. Downtown Portland is a 10 minute drive away. Unfortunately, there was no breakfast. There's a Friendly's on site, if you enjoy their offerings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praetor979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

No, this is not a luxury hotel - but the rooms are clean, and members of the staff are helpful, professional, and courteous. It's only a short drive to downtown Portland, and at a fraction of the prices some other hotels charge, it's a bargain.

Cons: The building definitely shows its age. Area is filled with strip malls and car dealerships.

Pros: Plenty of parking, very short drive to Portland. Low price. Attached to a Friendly's Restaurant, if you're in the mood for ice cream or Fribble.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 21 in Portland
609 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing