We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service,value and parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service,value and parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I'm not much of a Tripadvisor contributor but my experience with Hojo merits a few good words.Great staff, clean room, and a very generous parking policy.We drove down from Halifax N.S. stayed 1 night, were shuttled to the airport and picked up our car 20 days later with NO hassles and great staff.Got a great price on Hotwire...Happy to stay here again...thanks Howard Johnson's

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    560
    337
    117
    52
See reviews for
518
508
131
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Booked 2 rooms last minute..Prices were great,,Staff was awesome...I wish the pool would have been working,,but it was nice to sit in a nice quiet room...The front desk people were so nice and polite!! Would def stay here anytime I am in Maine again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I had stayed at the Howard Johnson Plaza back in 2010 and had a good experience, so I took advantage of their Park and Fly package. For a very low price I stayed for two nights on the way to and from New York. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Amtrak station and picked me up at the airport a week later. Leaving my car at the hotel for a week was also free. This is a great deal! My room was large and quiet and comfortable, and the pool was a nice bonus. Highly recommended. Particularly since you can fly Jetblue from Portland to JFK for as little as $49!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

WOW! I must say this was soooo surprising. The housekeeping staff are phenomenol! My room was spic and span everyday and I stayed 10 days! If they saw me outside of my room they would ask if I needed anything. How nice. The front desk really worked with me on the price because of an unexpected change in plans. They also suggested some good eats and sites in the area. VERY NICE people here. There is a cheap restaurant attached to the hotel. I ate there once and the food was great. The servers were polite and quick. Its a great area with great people. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more amenities you get. More money but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlUSA1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My recent stay at this property was a wonderful experience. I hadn't stayed in a Howard Johnson's for many years. My experience here was terrific. The front desk staff went out of their way to be of assistance and were always helpful and friendly. My room was spotless and much larger than expected. The furnishings included a reclining chair facing the TV that wasn't just shoehorned into an already small space. It is a 4-4 1/2 mile easy drive to downtown Portland and if you are willing to make that drive the $50-$75 daily savings is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at Howard Johnson Plaza Portland for three nights last week. We had read the other reviews and thought it was worth a try. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a clean, well-decorated and friendly hotel. Our room had a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There was no noise from the highway. Seasons restaurant in the hotel was excellent. In fact, we had dinner there twice. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who was staying in the Portland area. The price was more than reasonable compared to the other hotels in the region.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which backed on to a small courtyard. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1910Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we go on a trip or just staying overnight in Portland. It is the staff that makes us come back. The place is clean and we find the place to be quiet. We now book well ahead of time because the secret is out about this hotel. Also the shuttle drivers are great and no matter what time early morning 4:30am or near midnight they are very friendly. Keep up the customer service and you'll need to add on to the place as everyone will want to stay there. Also the price is great.
The Bourassa Family

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaB892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing