We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice For A Portland Area Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Howard Johnson Plaza in Portland during a visit to southern Maine. The facility has a convenient, central location, with easy access to the highway and main routes through the city. The jetport, Freeport, the Maine Mall, and the Old Port were only a few minutes' drive from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room, booked in advance through a travel site, did not have a particular feature that I wanted, but the manager upgraded me to a room that included it at no extra cost without my even having to ask. I was very impressed! My room was clean, quiet and comfortable, which are the three big things I seek during any hotel stay. It wasn't fancy, but most of my time in it was spent in bed with my eyes closed, so who cares? Despite the proximity to the turnpike and some busy streets, the traffic noise was not noticeable in my room. I did not avail myself of the pool, hot tub, or exercise room, but I did take a look at them and they were very well maintained. There are two on-site restaurants, for which Howard Johnson's provides discount coupons. I didn't try Season Grille, but I did very much enjoy my breakfast at The Egg and I. Great food and wonderful service there. There are plenty of restaurants, gas stations, and shopping opportunities nearby as well. I enjoyed my stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza in Portland, and will likely stay there again on my next trip to that area.

Room Tip: If you book through a travel site, it is a good idea to e-mail the HoJo's in advance to make sur...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisR624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,680)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After a 12 hour journey and being very tired, it was so nice to be greeted graciously at the check-in desk and then we went to the Lounge for a cock-tail prior to eating our evening meal. The hostess placed us at a table in front of the open fireplace. We were so comfortable that we also ate our meal at this table. We were treated in an excellent way and then we retired to our cozy room. What a pleasant ending to a strenuous day of driving. We have stayed here before and will return again. Also the breakfast room serves an exceptional meal too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank blakester389
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £57 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing