We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had to rent a hotel room in our own hometown recently, when our heat went off during a cold snap. I booked this last-minute on hotwire for a really low price, so I was a little apprehensive, but it turned out to be great. The room was warm, large, and super clean, and the beds were very comfortable. I liked the real glasses & mugs - nice touch! The lobby was also very clean and cozy, and the staff was pleasant. Several reviews have mentioned that this is an older hotel, but honestly, I didn't find that to be the case. Maybe it's undergone a renovation. If you're visiting Portland and you're torn between staying in the more expensive downtown/Old Port area, save the money and stay here. It's only a few minutes drive to downtown, and the hotel is just as nice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkd165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

So, this is an older hotel, but the rooms have a flat screen tv, real coffee mugs(not paper cups), real glasses for beverages, comfortable chair with rollout footrest, two hotubs, an indoor pool, and two restaurants on sight one which serves breakfast/lunch and the otherwhich has lounge and serves only dinner. The hotel is just off the turnpike exit and has large parking lot for those of you who want to use their park and fly package, which, by the way, is a great deal! They have shuttle to and from the airport and if the shuttle is not available, they will pay for a taxi.
When we checked in, we did not like the location of our room, so when we called the front desk, they sent someone to us with keys for a different room and offered their apologies for our inconvenience. Now, this hotel might be older, but it is a great value and has a little bit of class when dealing with their guests.
nconvenience.Now, this hotel might be older,

Room Tip: Rooms near on/off ramp of the turnpike tend to be noisy, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My friend and I enjoyed every second of our stay..Great Value, clean smoke-free room...Seasons Restaurant was great with awesome service and The Egg and I had a great breakfast!! Definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed one night in the Howard Johnson, Riverside Street. When we checked in, we were given our choice of rooms, picked one on the first floor. The room was clean, and the bathroom spotless. It was only the one night, but we both slept well on a nice comfy king sized bed. There are a couple of restaurants on the premises, we had a few drinks in one of them and had fun watching karoake. For the money you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
610 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £55 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing