We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not A Bad Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not A Bad Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Normally, I wouldn't choose Howard Johnson, but Priceline chose for me. nice location, right off of 95, with plenty of stores and restaurants nearby, although a busy area. You could tell at one time that this was a really nice property, but it was just a little worn. Not terrible, but not in it's prime either. It was a blistering hot July day and the ice machine was out of ice. The unit on the 2nd floor was out of order. The Restaurant inside the hotel was pretty good and quite reasonable, after driving all day I just wanted to stay on property, which worked out well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    560
    337
    117
    52
See reviews for
518
507
131
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern maine
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Howard Johnson Plaza before and after our trip to Punta Cana. We asked for a Park n Fly and the price was very reasonable. Our room was immaculate and front desk service was top notch. They provided us with taxi service to and from the airport because of our flight times and we were well taken care of. I highly recommend this hotel and will definately stay here again. No problems whatsoever. Very comfy beds also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitmustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I got a great deal by bidding on another website - and would be the only reason to stay there - - if you can get a room for a low rate. It's considered a three star hotel, but is more like a two star. Nothing special here - a bit dated and worn. It's connected with an excellent diner/restaurant which is one redeeming factor.

Room Tip: Hallways are long. If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room near the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twice_the_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the makeover of the Howard Johnson Plaza. It was clean and well taken care of. Staff were friendly and down-to-earth. Restaurants had delicious food at reasonable prices.
Our one suggestion would be to put 2 easy chairs in a room. After all a king size bed would suggest that more than one person would like to relax in a comfy chair. Why not??

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank M Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Call the hotel directly after you shop prices online. They will usually give you a better deal. The room was large, clean , inadequately supplied with amenities. The night staff was courteous and probably brought extra blankets to our room on request. The temperature in the room never got above 66 degrees. The location is not close to most tourist sites in Portland. That was not a problem since Portland is not that big. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing