We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not near the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice hotel with friendly service, Rooms were quite nice and clean.

I did not look to closely at the location when booking. I wanted to be downtown but this hotel was close to the airport = my fault.

Only dislike is you pretty well have to take the toll highway ($1) no matter where you go.

We ate walking distance from the road at Ruby Tuesdays and Chipotle's - both excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have stayed here before and in other hotels in the same general area but was disappointed this time. The toilet didn't always flush properly and always made a horrible noice when flushed. Also Housekeeping wasn't 100% on the job--you could write in the dust on the standing lap's glass table and on top of radiators as well as the top of the in-room safe. Otherwise it is a convenient location just off the I-95 and there is a great restaurant nextdoor for breakfast for which the hotel gives a discount coupon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is always our go to. It is right off I-95, and easy to get to Kittery, Old Orchard Beach, and only an hour and a half from Boston. The rooms may have older curtains but they are clean, have microwaves and fridges, and very spacious. They all have a balcony or a walk out as well. Their pool is very good for a hotel pool and the staff is very friendly. It is also close to many restaurants, grocery stores and Portland Mall.
I always stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Everyroom is great, and all have balconies or walk outs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £51 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing