We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Standard Suburban Motel - Problem With Smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Value Standard Suburban Motel - Problem With Smokers”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms are clean, comfortable and with the usual amenities of a fridge, coffeemaker and microwave. Bathrooms are new and very nice. There is no free breakfast here. The lobby is roomy and comfortable. Décor throughout is very dated, but well maintained. The pool is heated and large; there are also two spa pools which are very welcome.

My only real complaint is the smoking at this "non-smoking" motel. The halls reek of it. I don't know what motels/hotels can do to enforce non-smoking policy, but this Howard Johnson really needs to do something about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angkor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    573
    345
    118
    54
See reviews for
529
516
133
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN, US
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We got this hotel as a 3* on Priceline for a really good deal. I really wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean with everything we needed for a good 1 night stay. The pictures provided by the hotel are accurate - the decor could stand to be updated but very, very clean. The beds were comfortable and the sheets/towels were good. We were also pleased that our room was ready about noon so we could leave our bags & go out to sightsee. This was the largest room of our entire vacation (which included stays at 4.5* major upscale chain in downtown Boston as well as a well-known boutique hotel). The location isn't picturesque but it is convenient - 15 minutes to the Old Port and less than 10 minutes to the airport. We enjoyed breakfast at the attached Egg & I. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality motorlodge-type place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I left our room to get a coffee before checking out and when we returned 20 minutes later room service had already stripped the beds and was cleaning it. We even had items in the room. Checkout time is 12:00 pm but I guess they were in a rush for us to leave at app, 9:00 am. The Receptionist wouldn't even stand up when we entered the hotel upon arriving and was rude.

Room Tip: Drive to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Please accept my apologies for the service issues you experienced during your stay. The housekeeper evidently thought that you had checked out, I am sorry that they were not more attentive. I have brought your comments to the attention of the staff to ensure they do not repeat this mistake. I hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you our usual hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The front desk employee who checked us in lied to a customer whom she was on the phone with saying "the lobby is super busy!" when I was the only customer there. She tried to act like doing that was a service to me by winking. Even worse, we wanted to change our room (a 1 Queen bed) to a different floor and the staff put us into a 2 Double bed room without telling us. Upon finding our room, one bed was strewn with hairs on the flat sheet and the bathroom had hair on the floor, in the sink, and in the shower. Not a pleasant stay. I expected much more from reviews I read of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khakiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Please accept my apologies for the service and housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide top rate service and clean, comfortable rooms to all of our guests, I am sorry that we failed to live up to these standards for you. We will utilize your comments during our ongoing staff training in an effort to avoid any similar problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is in need of updates, all the tubs were redone with a bath fitter type of system where it goes right over the old one and water gets caught between the new plastic tub and old one underneath and it makes disgusting swooshing noises and dark water sometimes comes out when stepped on, the hotel is right a crossed from the strip club and is full of working girls of which the hotel staff are aware. Diane at the front desk was so rude and told me if I didn't like the accommodations to go someplace else and to top it off I awoke in the night with BED BUGS on me and covered in bites!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M0M0fFOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are regularly updating the hotel and address any maintenance issues, such as the water under the tub liner in your room, as arise – I am sorry that was not noticed and corrected prior to your visit. We are very proactive regarding the issue of bed bugs; our housekeeping staff is trained to identify the issue if introduced to the hotel and we utilize a qualified professional pest management company to ensure any problem is immediately taken care of. We will utilize your comments during our regular staff training in an effort to avoid any similar issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing