We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, and a nice experience as well.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value, and a nice experience as well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

My wife and I booked this hotel through Orbitz as a "half-way" point on our trip to Bar Harber, Maine, as well as taking an opportunity to see some friends. We felt that, of thethree places we stayed on th trip, this one was by far the best. Although reasonably priced compared to othe hotels in the area we looked at, the quality of the service and room, quiet and clean, was considerably more than one might expect for the money. It's true this hotel is a 10-15 minute ride from the Harbor area, the hotels there are considerably more expensive, and I can't imagine the accomodations could be much better than here. Parking is free, as is the 30 minutes of Internet with a terminal available in the lobby. Our friends took us on a tour of the harbor area the night we got in, and we had dinner at DiMillo's, a floating restaurant shaped like a boat, which specializes in seafood, but also does a fine job with other foods.They are connected by a hallway to a Friendly's restaurant, which we went to for breakfast the next morning, and the quality and service was also excellent. Would highly recommend all three.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightshade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    547
    335
    117
    52
See reviews for
505
504
126
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed here out of desperation. Almost everything else in Portland was booked or over $300 a night. As it was I had to pay $160+ for a room that was grimy and cheaply decorated. The sheets had holes and the bathroom floor and sinks looked like they hadn't been cleaned since 2009. Hair and a hairpin were in the tub. To top things off my smoke detector went off multiple times in the middle of the night because of a faulty battery. When I called the front office to complain, it took over 30 minutes (i.e. lost sleep time) to come up and fix the problem.

The following night I stayed in a very nice hotel suite owned by another chain in Boston for significantly less leaving me with the impression that Portland, ME is overpriced for the quality available.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Good clean Hotel, had a crib ready to go for our baby, however we had requested a fridge, but was not available. we survived, and had arrived late-ish and understand they were all checked out already.

easy on off, although it may get harder if they change the exit off 95 as planned.

one caveat, across the street from a strip club, but ultimately, not a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rirockhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

The location is very convenient for travelers - right off the major turnpike (95) in central Portland and just a bit N of the airport. We got a "home office" room and found it to be very comfortable and a bit larger than normal - room for a small couch and chair as well as a small desk with office-style leather/vinyl chair. Amenities include a safe, flat screen TV, HBO, medium-sized fridge, microwave, and free WiFi. They also provide free bottled water and cracker snacks as well as coffee and USA today. The bathroom was nice and modern, but we noted a few minor flaws (like a slightly loose toilet). The bed was comfortable and had an added touch of an extra sheet over the blanket.

Facility as an above-average workout room, and an indoor pools with 2 spas.

There's also a grocery/drug store and other restaurants/stores within walking distance. The on-property lounge/restaurant was very good and we enjoyed some local beers and a wonderful twin-lobster dinner deal (for $24!). There's also a Friendly's but we didn't visit it.

Downsides, maybe a little noise from the highway if you're on the S side of the hotel. The room A/C was effective but just a little too much fan noise for my taste, but not enough that I lost any sleep over.

All-in-all, I'd easily return to this HoJo.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristThruLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at this property. The staff was warm and friendly, the property was well kept and rooms clean and comfortable. They were truly pet friendly; taking care to put us in best situated rooms for traveling with our dog (patio exit to good grassy area directly from the room). At our check-in, they gave us a packet of dog treats and waste clean-up bags. There is a good large grassy area for exercising your pet companion. If you are traveling with a pet (or even if not) we recommend this hotel. It is conveniently located and we will stay there again when traveling to that area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Lia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

I shall try not be be too long winded but...
I had to make some last minute arrangements to attend my HS 45 reunion and was not pleasantly surprised by the prevailing rates. With that I checked with Orbitz and found that this Howard Johnson had very reasonable rates, particularly considering the higher summer rate schedule one might expect. Once in my room, the first thing that caught my eye was the large plasma TV, I would guess at least with a 32" screen. Also included was an ironing board with iron, a safe, hairdryer, toiletries. The bathroom was spotless. I would be the first to tell anyone do their shopping/cost comparison, but you owe it to yourself to include this facility in your choices.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johndh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We booked our room about an hour before arriving into town and while the location was a little out of the way, we overall greatly enjoyed this find. The price was decent, room clean & spacious. Good internet connection, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sphinx130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing