We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I was in for 3 nights was happy with the service & professionalism at this establishment, will be coming back on a regular basis, I just love the area & the hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbcd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,604 - 1,610 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel was great!!! very helpful and friendly. the rooms were very very clean and fresh. the beds were decent. the towels were big and plush and had the tub had a nice shower head. this hotel was an incredible value for the money! book online to save!! thanks howard johnson for a comfy stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights. As a pet owner all I can say is that it was fantastic! We were given a room with a sliding door adjacent to a grassy area where our dog loved strolling. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The location is about 10-15 mintues from downtown Portland but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiquita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel during a recent weekend in Portland. Check-in took a while because I believe they were training someone on the front desk. Once we got settled, we were very happy with our rooms. I was traveling with my mother, and we were able to get adjoining rooms, which isn't always possible. The rooms were quiet and clean. My kids loved the pool and the fitness room. Only complaint would be the location. It's centrally located, but when my son and I tried to take a walk the next morning around the area, we were disappointed with the lack of sidewalks, walk signals at intersections and crosswalks. It's definitely a car-centric location. The on-site Friendly's was nice because the kids could grab a snack when the rest of us weren't especially hungry.

I should add that I'm planning another trip through Portland (this time as a stopover on the way back from Quebec) and I was thrilled that I booked the Howard Johnson's (albeit through another website. Sorry TripAdvisor : ))

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XCaliphornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We checked in late in the evening, we had a room with 2 double beds, the first room they gave use had as heavy smell of smoke, when we told them about it they first told use they didn't have any more double rooms, just a single with a king, after we told them we would be leaving to check into another hotel they came up with another room with double beds, which was OK. so they did take care of the situation but it took a little bit. Also when we booked the room they sent use the confirmation that stated they had a free continental breakfast, when we arrived, they didn't have the breakfast. Overall it turned out OK

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Staff is great(ask for Lyn) all was great! The restaurant was good value and the rooms were a good size, we even had a small balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olands58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My wife and I booked this hotel through Orbitz as a "half-way" point on our trip to Bar Harber, Maine, as well as taking an opportunity to see some friends. We felt that, of thethree places we stayed on th trip, this one was by far the best. Although reasonably priced compared to othe hotels in the area we looked at, the quality of the service and room, quiet and clean, was considerably more than one might expect for the money. It's true this hotel is a 10-15 minute ride from the Harbor area, the hotels there are considerably more expensive, and I can't imagine the accomodations could be much better than here. Parking is free, as is the 30 minutes of Internet with a terminal available in the lobby. Our friends took us on a tour of the harbor area the night we got in, and we had dinner at DiMillo's, a floating restaurant shaped like a boat, which specializes in seafood, but also does a fine job with other foods.They are connected by a hallway to a Friendly's restaurant, which we went to for breakfast the next morning, and the quality and service was also excellent. Would highly recommend all three.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightshade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
609 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing