We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”
Review of Inn at Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Portland
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 10 August 2014

No complaints!!! We needed a room for a family of four on August10th on short notice and this hotel came up in our search. Every Hotel, Motel and Inn this weekend around Portland and Old Orchard Beech was booked and or $250.00 to $350.00 per night. This place was $169.00. No pool, no restaraunt, no luxuries, no big deal. The Inn is right off rte 95 and there are a bunch of restaurants you can walk to. Another note. The rooms and halls are being updated. New carpeting and the beds feel like they are brand new. I would give the Hotel a 5 rating if they had any amenities such as a pool.

Room Tip: No elevators in case you can't use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had booked this hotel and could pay at time of arrival so I planned an all cash weekend. When we got there they would not accept cash!!! Stay away from this place it is horrible! Musty smelling torn carpet in the stair ways. When we went to check out at 10 a.m. Sunday morning there was a sign on the door "leave your key in your room or slip under the door, we will be here soon. So we decided to go to breakfast and come back, we got back at 11 and there was another sign on the door if you need help call this number. Seriously this is NO way to run a business, we will NEVER be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked this hotel due to the fact that I wanted to come to Portland and get a change of scenery for night life. The outside wasn't much to look at but the inside was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, I am not sure who was running the front desk on the night of 03/08/2014 but they need some recommendation. It had a very comfortable bed. I returned from the bar at 2 am and called the front desk for some extra pillows and the gent at the front desk brought them right to me. Top notch in my book!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wkeustis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was dirty beer left in fridge from previous occupant. Cleankiness poor. No person to check out with the next day.i will never ever stay there again. Ialsoo would nevrr recommend it.it is overpriced compared to other options in the area. You would be better served to stay by the mall or in Freeport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I will never go to this place ever again. We ended up booking another hotel in the first five minutes of our arrival. The place stunk of mold and old tobacco and shame. This hotel makes the crack house in town seem like an upgrade. We found stains on the sheets and the blankets and dust on every crevice. The smoking rooms are right on the same floor as the non smoking rooms. My girlfriend and I still cringe thinking about it. Oh and the owner will give you hell for getting a refund.

The other reviews are no joke and please for your safety and cleanliness go someplace else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I made the mistake of not checking trip advisor before I booked this place. Do not make the same mistake I made! This hotel is not a hotel, it's a moldy, horrifying, disgusting place that gives me the willies even thinking about. The moment you walk in the building it REEKS of mold. I had to take a puff of my inhaler it was so bad! The first thing I did was strip the bed to check for bugs. I had to book another place to stay, thats how bad it was! Chris the front desk clerk told me they would refund me the money unless they had to reprocess the room or there would be a 35$ charge. The only thing we touched was those blankets and they charged me the fee. You can bet your bottom dollar someone will be getting an ear full in the morning and I will get back that fee. Don't waste your time, money or health on this place. The reviews are no joke, this place is terrifying!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank livefreeordielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

All of the bad reviews you've read are 100% accurate. This place is really beyond scary, creepy and unsafe...and the smells are so bad. This place should be condemned and is not fit to rent hotel rooms to human beings.

We made the mistake of not pre-booking a hotel room and when we arrived in the Scarborough/Portlant area and it was the only one available under $300. We arrived late and paid $99 to the couple at the front desk who were likely the owners, and they were pleasant. But the bad experienced started after they told us to drive around back into a secluded dark area and there were shady people hanging around. Think they just rent out rooms by the night/week. The place is in really rough shape....just like someone wrote, it's like a crack house. We locked the door, looked up the number for the local police and bearly slept a wink. People were knocking on a door close to ours, yelling 'let me in' throughout the night. I was sure our car would be gone in the morning. In addition to be frightened, the smell of urine in the room was so gross. Think it was cat urine in every corner and you could almost taste it. And the noise from the highway was bad. Can't stress enough that this is not a safe place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tfallriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#9 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
3.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Portland

Address: 1150 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102-1029 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing