We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Inn at Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Portland
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived early to check in to find it locked down and abandoned. No staff anywhere. No messages on the office. Drove around the entire place looking for any staff- found no one. Had to leave a find alternative accommodations and they charged us anyway for a room we could not get in to or use. Go somewhere else

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamiltonh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    11
    13
    39
See reviews for
19
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Good place price was crazy and no pool and no breakfest for this price but great comfy bedsi would stay here again if the price goes down good good please looks bad on the outside good on the inside they look like they are renovating it great love it

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

No complaints!!! We needed a room for a family of four on August10th on short notice and this hotel came up in our search. Every Hotel, Motel and Inn this weekend around Portland and Old Orchard Beech was booked and or $250.00 to $350.00 per night. This place was $169.00. No pool, no restaraunt, no luxuries, no big deal. The Inn is right off rte 95 and there are a bunch of restaurants you can walk to. Another note. The rooms and halls are being updated. New carpeting and the beds feel like they are brand new. I would give the Hotel a 5 rating if they had any amenities such as a pool.

Room Tip: No elevators in case you can't use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had booked this hotel and could pay at time of arrival so I planned an all cash weekend. When we got there they would not accept cash!!! Stay away from this place it is horrible! Musty smelling torn carpet in the stair ways. When we went to check out at 10 a.m. Sunday morning there was a sign on the door "leave your key in your room or slip under the door, we will be here soon. So we decided to go to breakfast and come back, we got back at 11 and there was another sign on the door if you need help call this number. Seriously this is NO way to run a business, we will NEVER be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked this hotel due to the fact that I wanted to come to Portland and get a change of scenery for night life. The outside wasn't much to look at but the inside was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, I am not sure who was running the front desk on the night of 03/08/2014 but they need some recommendation. It had a very comfortable bed. I returned from the bar at 2 am and called the front desk for some extra pillows and the gent at the front desk brought them right to me. Top notch in my book!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wkeustis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was dirty beer left in fridge from previous occupant. Cleankiness poor. No person to check out with the next day.i will never ever stay there again. Ialsoo would nevrr recommend it.it is overpriced compared to other options in the area. You would be better served to stay by the mall or in Freeport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I will never go to this place ever again. We ended up booking another hotel in the first five minutes of our arrival. The place stunk of mold and old tobacco and shame. This hotel makes the crack house in town seem like an upgrade. We found stains on the sheets and the blankets and dust on every crevice. The smoking rooms are right on the same floor as the non smoking rooms. My girlfriend and I still cringe thinking about it. Oh and the owner will give you hell for getting a refund.

The other reviews are no joke and please for your safety and cleanliness go someplace else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 19 in Portland
1,594 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,367 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Portland

Property: Inn at Portland
Address: 1150 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102-1029 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing