We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here while in Portland for two nights and it has the best view of Portland harbor and the parking is free! Besides that the rooms are lovely the service is excellent and I would not stay anywhere else in Portalnd. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here one night while traveling up the cost and was not dissapointed. Hotel was clean and service was good. IT's walking distance to the Old Port area but will be about a 10 min walk. Room was very clean and very comfortable beds/pillow's. I didn't try the resturant/lounge as there are too many other good local options for that in the area. Value was ok, not cheap by any means but you get what you pay for. Keurig's in every room are a nice touch as well!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Holday Inn Portland By the Bay was a great hotel. The staff was very helpful as I lost my cellphone. They returned calls for me and we eventunally found it. If I ever make it back to Portland, I will be sure to stay here. The room was clean. The shuttle driver was nice enought to drive me accross the street for my conference as it was POURING!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend, 2011.

We arrived 4 hours before check-in but they were able to accomodate us anyway. Even better, because I also had signed up for their rewards program (something everybody should do before booking a hotel anywhere), I was given a welcome package that includede:

a bottle of water (which was handy as it was hot out)
a bag of Doritos
two chocolate chip cookies
late check out the next day (2pm)
a free drink ticket for the lounge/bar
a half-off drink ticket for the lounge/bar
a free coffee/tea ticket for the restaurant

Our room was on the 10th floor (out of 11 floors). When I booked online we paid $5 extra for a bayview room and that's exactly what we got. The room was furnished with a king sized bed, chair, table, desk, dresser (with large flat-screen TV), and small but well-appointed bathroom. I'm always hot and when we checked in, the AC was running comfortably cool. The hotel is located up a hill from Portland's Old Port so it was refreshing to arrive to that.

The Old Port is about a 10-15 minute walk (depends on how fast you walk). The "Arts District" (which from the best I could tell consisted of two art museums and a bunch of closed art galleries) was a block or so uphill (the Portland Museum of Art was across the street).

The hotel is also walkable to the pretty West End of Portland, with large mansions and historic homes.

We never ate at the restaurant, but the lounge was a pleasant enough place to relax with our free and half-price drink at the end of a day of playing tourist.

We also tried checking out their indoor pool and gym/sauna, but the pool water was extremely cold for some reason. We did enjoy sometime in the sauna, though it took some time to heat up since some idiot prior to us left the door wide open. There were no towels available, but they quickly came down and dropped off more.

The hotel offers free wifi. It worked speedily enough, but the password changed twice during our 24 hours stay so there was a slight hassle gaining access.

We didn't have a car, but it appears that they offer ample parking.

As an added bonus, they offered free transportation to either the airport (or, as Portlanders call it, the jetport) or to the Amtrak/bus station (where we caught our train back to Boston). This was a convenient perk that saved us about $13 in cab fare.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The room was clean and quiet, and the view was very pretty. All this for just $122 (plus tax) per night.

Room Tip: Get water view room. Sign up for rewards program
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel Saturday night. I got a rate of 125.00 plus tax. Other hotels in the area were charging 284.00 plus tax and parking a night. The hotel was great. Check in was a easy, staff very friendly, we were given a goodie bag with water, snacks, maps, two free drink coupons to the hotel bar and a scratch ticket. The room was very clean, large TV, mini fridge, and mini microwave. The bathroom had bath and body products and a nice coffee machine. I checked out the pool and exercise area seamed nice and clean. Hotel lobby had free coffee, juice, and newspaper, the hotel also has free parking. The hotel was walking distance from downtown (easy walk), the hotel has a free shuttle too. Having said all this, I have in the past stayed at the Portland harbor hotel and the regency hotel. Both of these hotels are very nice, a little more upscale and a little closer to downtown (1-2blocks). I would pick the holiday inn again. I'm very picky about my hotel rooms. The value here is great, staff great, the room even had a nice view of the bay. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank routeroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

From the moment we registered we were treated royally. We were given suggestions of how to spend the day and restaurant information. All ideas were "right on". The rioom was nicely decorated and the beds exceptionally comfortable. It had all the ammenities that you could want. Both the room and bathroom were very clean.
The staff at the desk were delightful! They evefn suggested the complimentary shuttle bus for us to take from the hotel instead of us trying to drive and park our car ourselves! What a find. We were offered a complimentary bottle of water for out return ride home! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labravanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

At first I chose this hotel by location, our graduation event was at the Civic Center. But it was so wonderful I would recommend it to all. We had a group of 19 staying at the hotel so we had 9 rooms which everyone loved. We used their banquet facilities for a lunch after the graduation which was excellent. Everyone was so helpful and accommodating with everything. They even provided shuttle service to the restaurant for dinner that night. Even the time spent at the bar (which was very busy) was great! Everyone seemed to make that extra effort which helped us to have a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohappygrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,490 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £77 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing