We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived to Holiday Inn in Portland around 1pm in order to get room, relax and be ready at 4pm when charter bus will takes all wedding party guests to the wedding event.
It was a surprise, when we were told that rooms will be ready by 4pm. Not to mention that this room we booked 6 month in advance through wedding special price list. So, Holiday Inn personal should be prepare for such event, when approx 100 guests were stayed at Holiday Inn.
Well, the Hotel was nice, located 5 min. walk to the center of city Marina.
Nice room with 2 queen beds, flat screen TV and contemporary coffee maker.
I did not hear any noises during the night, except of AC made some funny noises.
Overall, this is nice hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruceshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

A Holiday Inn is not usually our choice, but we were traveling with friends who had stayed at this one recently and thought it had much to recommend it, so we relented. The lobby is comfortable, but could use some spiffing up; same is true of the lounge and the hallways, but our room on the 8th floor was certainly a cut above most moderately priced chains. It was spacious, exceptionally clean, well-equipped (we appreciated the conveniently located chargers and the comfortable reading chair), and claimed a stunning view of the harbor. The in room coffee was surprisingly good. The desk staff folks were friendly and helpful as were the young men who manned the hotel shuttle. In the dining room we ordered breakfast from the menu and it was hot, fresh and very reasonably priced.
The location suited us as it is just across the street from the Portland Museum of Art, where we spent a big chunk of an afternoon, and is far enough away from the waterfront to avoid the crowds, but close enough for a brisk, leg-stretching walk (although the shuttle will give you a lift if you prefer). A nearby casual cafe, more frequented by locals than tourists, turned out to be a good spot for a diverse menu and quiet conversation. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorebarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

OK hotel, front desk staff seemed a bit lethargic and tired and was not at all friendly-contrary to what other reviewers have experienced- maybe everyone just had a bad day....our room was clean and spacious, unfortunately right next to the noisy elevator. Pluses include: complimentary coffee and lemonade are readily available in the lobby, the shuttle to the airport works great (we met two very nice & helpful drivers), the location is OK- 7 min walk to the pier.

Room Tip: away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Claudia D,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. It is good to know our spacious rooms exceeded your expectations. Allow us to apologize that you did not receive the quality customer service we are renowned for. We regret that you left unsatisfied with the level of the staff response. We will ensure that these issues are addressed so this does not re-occur in the future. We would cherish a chance to prove our true hospitality should your travels bring you here again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay this past weekend. We hadn't been in a HI in many, many years. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, nicely appointed, and had sufficient room in the bathroom for the two of us. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were happy by accommodating any requests, and asking after our opinion of the hotel. We ate breakfast there on our second morning, and we were very happy with the service and the food. I recently read an article that HI is trying to upgrade its' brand (which has been quite tarnished in recent years) by bettering its' service and facilities, and this particular one shows that effort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Whole on vacation on our motorcycles we decided to spend the nite in Portland Maine. We arrived abt 4:00 on Wednesday July 31st at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay. Upon arrival a nice young gentleman showed us where to park so that we could check in. We said we had no reservations and he replied that there was plenty of availability and that they certainly were not full. When we arrived at the front desk a young woman was checking in a gentleman ahead of us. She was very charming and smiling. He left and as she looked up to see us dressed in our motorcycle leathers and her demeaner changed immediately and no smiles. We did not even get within 2 feet of the desk and she emphatically said 'NO AVAILABILITY' Now first off how did she not know we may have had reservations. We heard her speaking with the gentleman ahead of us telling him there was plenty of availability. We asked if she was sure..even on a Wednesday? She replied again NO AVAILABILITY. We asked that she maybe could give us names of hotels in the area and she said she could not help us. She had us judged as soon as she looked at us. The young lady at the desk needs to learn not to judge and to possess better people skills. For her information we are both normal working people. If i had an employee treat a customer like that she would be reprimanded. We have arrived at and stayed at many 4 and 5 diamond Hotels and Inns dressed as we were and never have been treated like that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ntlch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is awesome. Staff is ultra friendly, the restaurant is wonderful for menu and price, the pool is one of the longest you will ever find, the fitness room is fine, and the location cannot be beat for the value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlingtonVaSonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August, and booked on short notice. Hotel was around $100 cheaper than the others in the area. Although the location was not as central as others, the walk is manageable and enjoyable. It is also the closest hotel to a few well-regarded restaurants.

Room was pretty standard, no complaints. Stayed in a "bay view" room, as only those were available when we were booking. Unsure if the price premium is worth it if you have a choice to book a non-bay view room, as much of the view, especially on the lower floors, would be of the roof of the parking structure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcup90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £78 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing