We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
RI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirtiest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am a business traveler and sleep in hotels about 150 nights/year. The room I stayed in was dirty beyond any other hotel I've stayed since staring this job. It was a double room, when I pulled down the covers it had many long black hairs on the pillows and the sheets. The bathroom was filthy; thick layers of mold that had obviously been neglected for some time, the toilet was dirty - hair on the seat and stains under the seat as well as the outside of the bowl having not been cleaned recently. I was placed in a smoking room despite both having specified a non-smoking room and my Holiday Inn rewards profile stating I want a non-smoking room. The room, was dated, and the smell of smoke did little to improve the ambiance. I would not stay here again if it were free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear dan g,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I apologize for our level of cleanliness didn't live up to your expectations and deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you had during your stay.

Your comments are very important as we rely on you, our valued guest to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    465
    175
    58
    33
See reviews for
219
450
52
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Nice room, good location in a lovely city to visit. Reasonable price when we booked.
We were unable to turn our air con off but the staff sorted it quickly.
Fitness centre left a little to be desired.
Easy enough to find and parking fine although have to pay

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anklejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Knowledgeable and helpful staff ; decent, clean rooms; good location near neighborhood restaurants and walking distance to the Old Port . Self parking on site . Fairly easy to find off highway . Onsite restaurant .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexa303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Honestly, I don't know why anyone would stay here unless you are craving a flashback to the 80's. We are here for a trade show in a basement with 4 giant a/c units. They've been blasting all day, even though it's 60-something outside. Additionally, when we asked to open the shades in the basement where the tradeshow is being told, we were gruffly told no by the hotel. Crazy.

There are lots of nice places to stay in Portland, this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ted A,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret that the level of service provided fell below your standards.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was a little torn on rating this Holiday Inn either an "average" or "very good." I've stayed here last year and came back again recently, so I guess that says something.

The Holiday Inn is in a great location for walking throughout the downtown Portland area and the hotel, overall, is clean. We also had a decent view of the water from our hotel, which was nice.

One complaint we had is that the parking garage is very tight and was often packed. If we had taken my husband's truck, we would have had issues parking it. Also, the elevator automatically always stops at the lobby, no matter where you are going. Of course, this isn't a huge deal, but can be a minor inconvenience. Also, the staff wasn't overly friendly.

One positive is the free shuttle the hotel provides. My husband and I had reservations at Five Fifty Five one night, which is easily within walking distance, but it was pouring outsie. The shuttle driver was very friendly, and promptly drove us and picked us up from the restaurant.

Although this Holiday Inn is around average, I would still stay here again.

Also, if you're looking for restaurant recommendations, I highly recommend Five Fifty Five and Street and Co. for dinner, and Hot Suppa for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was in Portland for my cousin's wedding. The location could not have been better. So many great places for me to run in the mornings, and since the hotel is located in the heart of downtown, I was able to explore many areas. The airport was merely 15 minutes away by car. We had no trouble parking the rental car in the parking deck. It was most convenient, as was the hotel shuttle. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is about midway to needing an update, but I was pleased with the condition of my room. Since I usually spend very little time in my room, I am not hard to please in this regard, location being the most important factor to me when looking for a hotel. The second most important factor is the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. I did not find the staff here to be lacking either--they were great and very friendly.

Room Tip: My view was toward the north (City view, not a water view), which was fine. The room was a better va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Loved the free shuttle from the small clean Portland ME airport. So enjoyed talking with Mike the driver. Fun Bawstan accent. ;-) Had requested a high floor room with a Casco Bay view (DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED - but away from the elevators. That's where the staff are, and can hear their door slam, at times often). Got there in the AM, room wasn't ready understandably, but offered a lower-floor room that was ready. I was ok with waiting, (and it was worth it) - downtown a 10 min walk. Staff were so friendly and professional. Joined their IHG Reward Club prior (free) and recommend it! Goodie bag waiting w/free drink coupons & snacks. Program also gives you late check-out (2pm) usually no problem. Room was beautiful - clean, spacious, INCREDIBLE Casco Bay view. Free WiFI always a HUGE plus. Gym was very small, but clean. Indoor pool huge - clean and a great place to hang out esp when it gets cold. Bartender at lounge for (free) drink was pleasant and informative of the happenings of the city. Free juice/lemonade & coffee in the lobby a plus. A wonderful stay, especially for the price point. And Portland is spectacular. Some of the nicest people I have ever met.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room (11th fl highest) with a bay view away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing