We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Corydon, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Room Updated”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a bayside room as always. Seemed cleaner, brighter, and updated from last year.
Never had a bad night in this hotel, and come every year for the past 10 years. The room was cleaned properly as usual. No problems at all. Quiet while we were there.

Room Tip: Bay side for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammy47115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for the review and the kind comments. We appreciate your choosing us for your accommodations, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    453
    172
    58
    33
See reviews for
214
441
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed a Saturday night at the end of our New England vacation in October. We wanted to be downtown Portland and there was very little available at any of the hotels although I was trying to book many weeks in advance. Our room at the Holiiday Inn was a very large king on the top floor with a nice view of the city. However, the rate was $283 before tax! I had no complaints about the room but it was not worth that much money. We liked being able to walk to restaurants and shops and it was an easy drive to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmarieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was well equipped with a heater for hot water and was nicely decorated. The wife worked well and was provided without a surcharge. The view of the water was pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Although we are unable to fully understand the review, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here on the 2nd night of our New England Coach tour.We arrived after dark and a very tiring day so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.This at first glance looked virtually empty but we were told to sit in the lobby to wait for a table which took about 20 minutes. There were only 3 staff waiting on and they did their best but we deduced that there was a function going on so service was pretty slow. We only had a bowl of chowder which was lovely but it took a bit too long. We then asked at the desk about the wifi code and were told it should have been in our welcome envelope.Well it wasn't, otherwise we wouldn't have asked,not too impressed with that attitude. Breakfast was better,nice choice, friendly staff and well organised. The bed was on the small side and the room was just ok,like our stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are very sorry there were issues with your dining room experience, however pleased that the next morning your service was well improved. Certainly the desk should have provided you with the password without qualification. Our apologies. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked this room for our 20th anniversary get away. Very disappointing. I requested a non smoking room. The room we had was a smoking room, and the stale smoke smell was awful. The window was sealed shut, so there was no chance of getting ANY fresh air in there. This room was also sold as a room with a "Bay View" room. It was pretty in the distance, but when you stood by the window, all you could see was the rooftop of the parking garage....covered in seagull and pigeon droppings. Not a pretty sight! I was also very upset by the fact that we had to PAY to park our car in their garage. $10 per day! Paying hotel guests should NOT have to pay to park! We loved Portland, and the Old Port area.....but we will NEVER stay at this hotel again. There are many others to choose from. So shop around!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
We are very sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. If there is anything the Hotel can do to rectify any of the issues, we encourage a phone call to speak with management. As far as the parking charge, we remained without a charge for many years while all other downtown properties charged. When we instituted a charge this summer, we kept it well below that of the other properties so as to better serve our guests. We sincerely hope we can have the opportunity of accommodating them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I spend A week Here For a Supreme Emblem Club Convention at the End Of August Staff was very Polite And Friendly. They even have a Shuttle that will take you down to the Waterfront and pick you up. The Bar and Waite Staff were very Nice and the FOOD was EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Upper floors are better for the Veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

There were so many issues with this hotel that I would not advise anyone to stay. This was a one night stay on our trip from Acadia back to NY with my husband and 2 year old son. Our room was very disappointing. My first experiance was the door to our room would not open unless my husband really used force to open it. The sheets had holes, the comforter was stained, the floors were dirty in the harder to reach places around the bed. The bathroom was odd with droped celings, the sink didnt drain, the shower curtain rod was rusted. When we went to bed the bed was sagging in the middle and the pillows were old and uncomfortable. If we had a stay any longer then the one night we needed to rest from the road we would have changed hotels. Also, the TV was very strangely set up so I had to call the front dest to figure out how to get regurlar channels, and he said that alot of people have issues with it??? So why dont you fix that? Overall this was digusting hotel I would never stay again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewleyWed61210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Our most sincere apologies for the unfortunate circumstances of your stay. The room should have been properly attended to, and an offer to move if that were not feasible. Was management contacted about your concerns? The comment made about the TV is unfortunately not true. We have very few requests for assistance. The Desk Manager will be made aware of the statement. We are glad you chose our property for your rest stop, and would like the opportunity of accommodating you again in the future. If you would like to discuss the stay further, we would be pleased if you would contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing