We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

They said they had a quota to fill on smoking rooms so I couldn't get a non smoking room. The room smelled horrible as you could imagine. The hallways looked dated and the rooms were a little better. The hotels in the area are pricey but I expected more from holiday inn for the location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Turtle3469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Turtle3469,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable that this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room that you were given. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

Despite this, we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    474
    178
    59
    33
See reviews for
225
459
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ME
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I had a very nice experience at Holiday Inn by the Bay. We got there and were checking in with very nice front desk employees. Our room was not quite ready so they gave us a free drink coupon for a drink at the bar while we waited, very nice. And the Lounge was very nice and comfortable. We had a room up on the top floor with an amazing view of the harbor and of South Portland. Clean, comfortable, plenty of room, free wi-fi, and a very large flat screen TV. The only thing I would do differently would be to turn down the fan of the heater at night, it was a bit loud if you are a light sleeper, my mistake, not theirs. I highly recommend Holiday Inn by the Bay.

Room Tip: Turn off or down the fan of the heater at night, it's a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSIBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire staff for posting your review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I read some negative reviews and was worried about staying here for a two day conference. I have to say, I was more than surprised. The room was on the 8th floor with a great view of the bay. It was cleaned and had a clean fresh smell. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of pressure for my shower.
The room had free wi-fi, coffee maker with coffee and teas, refrigerator which worked well to keep my flavored waters I brought for the conference. Large flat scree TV with enough channels to satisfy my needs.
I also ate at the restaurant down stairs that served one of the best burgers I've in a while. I was truly surprised for a hotel restaurant.
I spoke with staff at the front desk and they also do a park and ride. We will consider staying here for our next vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pophamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are glad you decided to reserve with us, and even more pleased that you were happy enough that you posted such a positive review. We look forward to your spending your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Sweden, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a conference and found the hotel good for this purpose. The meeting room temperatures were comfortable and the staff was attentive.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are well trained and care about the service they provide. We took advantage of the shuttle service to travel to and from eating establishments.

My room was comfortable with a microwave and keurig. Lots of outlets for charging electronic devices. I was a bit surprised by the pink stain on the floor between the beds. The heating unit was loud and ran constantly. As a country girl, the constant noise was painful so I did not sleep well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spruce92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Spruce92,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I really appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words intended for the staff. I humbly extend an apology for the noise which was the cause of your unsatisfactory sleep. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This Holiday Inn is right near the civic center. It is a short walk to Old Port, downhill. So the location is perfectly fine. The room was nice and had a good water view. There are good restaurants close to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Took a weekend trip to Portland in mid-October and stayed here for one night. We received a little welcome bag with a few snacks when we checked in for being IHG Rewards Club members, which was a nice surprise. Our room was very clean and had a nice view of the water.

We had warm fall weather, so walking around Old Port to restaurants, breweries, and other attractions was nice and easy. It would probably be too cold to walk from the hotel in colder winter months though.

Only downside I can think of was that the hotel charges $10/night to park in their garage - with an already pricey nightly rate, it would have been nice if parking was complimentary for guests. Other than that, an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Our room on the 9th floor had a nice view of the water - request a room on a higher floor if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First, I was sharing a room so didn't have much say in where it was. The location was convenient. The lady at the front desk was very nice. BUT a) the particular elevator we used shut on my husbands arm and then we saw the same thing happen to another lady. a) there was hair- not long from a persons head but short and from another part of the body- all over the bathroom floor YUCK c) when we came back at around 1:30/2 am there was nobody at the front desk or anywhere in the lobby and the doors weren't lock so anybody could come or go! d) and $10 per car for parking? Are you kidding- with the rates here? I've never had to pay for parking at a hotel anywhere in Maine- especially in P'town! Give me a break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Our sincere apologies for the circumstances experienced during your stay. It is not typical to have these reviews and it will be forwarded to all concerned. Please be assured we are completely staffed overnight, with desk, housekeeping, and security personnel. Our parking fees are the lowest in the downtown area, in an effort to better serve our guests. It is our hope we might have the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing