We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I go to Portland several times a year for a bit of R&R. This is a great hotel to stay at. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The front desk staff are more than helpful. All the staff are very nice here. They have underground parking and the hotel has amazing views of the bay s it is perched right at the top of Spring Street overlooking the bay and the city. It is very handy to most everything, good shopping, nice restaurants and great nightlife. I will be very honest it has been the only hotel I ever say at when i am in Portland and I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Book a room with a bay view on the backside of the hotel you will never regret it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graydon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We strive for the ultimate in guest experience and we are glad that we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is right smack in the middle of the Arts section of Portland. Loved the food and the room was very clean. It has it's own parking garage for patrons and shuttle service that will take you wherever you need to go. We just left our car and walked downtown. Would I stay here again ABSOLUTELY. Another great thing was the pillows. You actually got a great pillow here. Better than the rest of the hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamadukes197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and you took advantage of all that Portland has to offer. Please hurry back to our city and our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Room had bed-bugs. We advised the front desk and supervisor. all they did was offer another room. Decided to stay at another property instead and now dealing with a hotel room charge we cannot get resolved.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank line5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We have had the room thoroughly checked by our extermination company, and a clean report has been provided to the employer contact. We apologize for the disruption to your night. There was never a charge put through on the credit card. It could be the amount that is authorized at the time the credit card is swiped at check in, in which case your financial institution should be releasing that hold. Thank you for providing us with this information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I am in Portland multiple times a year, and this hotel has become the only place I'll stay. For it's price range, it truly can't be beaten (definitely try to request a Bay View Room, if possible). This place has super clean rooms (with a Keurig!!), comfy beds, incredibly friendly (and honest[see below]) staff and a great location that is in close proximity to much of Portland.

I have interacted with multiple staff members at this hotel. Every person I've encountered has been incredibly friendly, efficient and genuinely interested in assisting patrons. The lounge in the lobby, despite a slightly 'stuffy' seeming decor is a great place to relax with a cocktail (or snack) before heading out into Portland. I've only had breakfast in the restaurant--but that is pretty good!

Though it is a slight walk to many of the attractions in town, remember there is a courtesy shuttle. Or how great the sea air feels during a walk! :)

Also, just to share a personal story from my last visit that sealed my confidence in this place; About 1 hour into my 3 hour drive home, I realized I had left a rather significant sum [to me, at least] of money in my in-room safe. Although I had resigned myself to the fact that this money was probably lost, I called the hotel. The manager on duty went into my room, found the money, called me back and told me she would mail it to me---all in the course of under an hour. I'm still in shock, but incredibly grateful.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a bay view have an awesome view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We very much appreciate the reviewer posting these compliments. They will be shared with the entire staff. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night. The room was perfect and comfortable. It had a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and a big TV in the room. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge at night and great breakfast in their restaurant. The courtesy shuttle driver, John, was great and recommended a restaurant called J's on the waterfront. He dropped us off and picked us up after dinner. The restaurant was perfect. Upon check out they offered us a bottle of water for our drive home which we thought was very thoughtful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spudzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are pleased we will be your hotel of choice, and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We wanted to be closer to Old Port, but this hotel was a close enough walk. The hotel is lacking in real atmosphere, but is clean, the bed and room were comfy, parking was free, service was good. Overall pleasantly surprised, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear mdun,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

They said they had a quota to fill on smoking rooms so I couldn't get a non smoking room. The room smelled horrible as you could imagine. The hallways looked dated and the rooms were a little better. The hotels in the area are pricey but I expected more from holiday inn for the location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Turtle3469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Turtle3469,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable that this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room that you were given. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

Despite this, we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £112 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing