We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn for quite a while, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the toiletries and in-room coffee were better than average.

The hotel also offers a shuttle to local restaurants, which is convenient for people who can't or don't like to walk much. That said, the walk to restaurants and the wharf is easy.

The gym is nothing to write home about, and breakfast isn't included, but I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We very much appreciate your review and wish to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    465
    175
    58
    33
See reviews for
219
450
52
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you have read the review by Carla Companion, I wold like to add to it. I was a wedding guest and Aunt of Carla's. Upon checking into our room, I sat in the chair by the window. Looking back into the room I saw , shockingly, a greasy hand print, not just fingerprint, on the glass covering the picture next to the bed. I stopped at the desk on my way out to dinner and asked to have housekeeping sent to the room to remove it. Upon returning 3 hours later the hand print was still there. I called and they sent up the most disgruntled man who, when I opened the door, did not even speak, he just walked in with his windex bottle and a rag, cleaned the glass and left. The following day my son and his 8 month pregnant wife were due in at 11:00. I went to the desk and requested an early check in for them. When they got in at 1:00 they were told there were no rooms ready for them. We sent them to our room so my daughter in law could lie down and rest and we went to sit in the lobby and people watch. While we were sitting there for 45 minutes I watched not one or 2 but 6 people come in and check in! By number 6 I asked why they were able to but my son was told that no rooms were open. MIRACULOUSLY a room instantly became available!
The entire experience was far less than what I would have hoped for from a major chain in any location. Posted by Karen Ryder

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannagetwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are very sorry to hear of the unfortunate set of circumstances surrounding your stay. We would very much like th opportunity to speak with you directly to see if there is a way to resolve the problems. If you would please call the hotel directly and speak with the Assistant General Manger we will do our best to win back your confidence in us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After a lengthy delay in our original plans and some frustration regarding the pre-pay no refund policy we had a great stay at the Holiday Inn By The Bay. From the shuttle service to and from the airport, to the front desk staff, we were met with very friendly and helpful service. We were provided with great ideas for day trips in and out of Portland, as well as local eateries for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Had a great time and Portland and would highly recommend this hotel for great location at a great price for Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and services. Thank you for posting the review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked there for a long weekend and it was just the best. The indoor pool was great fun, as well as the amazing views from the "bay side" room. The value for services was fantastic and we were able to walk to most locations and when we couldn't the taxis were easy & affordable.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND for family gatherings or romantic get-aways !

Room Tip: We recommend paying extra for the bay view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCee10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing recommendations to others. We appreciate it very much and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in June. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large enough but the bathroom was a little small and there was too much crammed in there. The TV was large. The mini fridge kept shifting in the dresser cabinet and made noise for several hours. The air condition was very loud when it came on. Other than that, no major complaints. Location was great. A bit pricey in my opinion, and an additional fee for using the parking lot. Breakfast should always be included at that price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We appreciate your review and constructive comments. Guest feedback is our best means of improvement. We hope you will return for another visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for a 2 day weekend, hotel was fine, although nothing extraordinary. Location was great, about 10 minutes walk from centre of old port. Views from room great if you get a room facing the bay.
Had to pay for parking ($10 per day) which seemed a bit steep, however room rate was very competitive.
Did not have a lot of contact with staff, but found all we came into contact with were very helpful. Did not eat at hotel as centre of Portland so close with lots of options.

Room Tip: Choose room on bay side as high up as possible to get the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. You will be pleased to know our parking charge is the lowest in the city. On your next visit, please avail yourself of our shuttle service to take you to the surrounding restaurants. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. Had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the bay which was an unexpected upgrade. Very comfortable stay; exceptionally quiet which is rare in many hotels these days, great location to the old port and staff all very pleasant. Would highly recommend to anyone and with tea and coffee in the room and free tea and coffee in the lobby, this is a great venue to be based at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyH791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your returning to visit us again. Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing