We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We made last minute reservations here after a horrifying reserved room at another Hotel. We arrived and wow, what a room. They have a huge TV in the room, lots of pillows, clean, with awesome coffee maker. Very clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable. Best nights sleep at any hotel in a long time. The pool is nice but no jacuzzi. They have a gym and a sauna. We ate breakfast in their restaurant, great food and service. Husband went to lounge for drinks and he said great service there.

They have a shuttle service, we parked our car in the garage and left it there during our two day stay. We used the shuttle several times; other times we wanted to just walk and take in all the places to see, eat, and enjoy.You do have to give them a time like if you want to go somewhere. We went to Peaks Island downtown- but we reserved a time the day before. They took us and picked us up (we called them when we arrived and they were like 10min to get to us)...which was fine.

The service was great- and staff all very friendly and professional. There is a children's museum across the street which my son took his daughter too- and said it was really neat.

They only thing I didn't know when I checked in was 10.00 a night for parking in the garage. But the location and shuttle service was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironbutterfly_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our services, staff, food, and room accommodations. I'm sorry the parking charge was not quoted. You might also like to know that our charge is the lowest in downtown Portland. We hope you will make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    449
    171
    56
    33
See reviews for
211
432
51
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We recently made a trip to coastal Maine and stayed at the Holiday Inn while in Portland. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was a great location for visiting the harbor by foot. But we did enjoy the courtesy van when too tired to walk back. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review sharing with others your positive experience here. We are glad you chose us for your stay in Portland, and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were in Portland for only one day (unfortunately), so we weren't looking for anything fancy or over-the-top.

What this hotel delivered was a clean, comfortable room with all the amenities we needed, and a helpful, friendly staff (although everyone in Maine seemed super-friendly). Best of all the location is ideal. You are a short walk from all the best of what this beautiful little city has to offer.

Well worth the stay and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discodogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review. We are glad you chose us, and hope when you return you can spend more time in our delightful city. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn for quite a while, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the toiletries and in-room coffee were better than average.

The hotel also offers a shuttle to local restaurants, which is convenient for people who can't or don't like to walk much. That said, the walk to restaurants and the wharf is easy.

The gym is nothing to write home about, and breakfast isn't included, but I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We very much appreciate your review and wish to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you have read the review by Carla Companion, I wold like to add to it. I was a wedding guest and Aunt of Carla's. Upon checking into our room, I sat in the chair by the window. Looking back into the room I saw , shockingly, a greasy hand print, not just fingerprint, on the glass covering the picture next to the bed. I stopped at the desk on my way out to dinner and asked to have housekeeping sent to the room to remove it. Upon returning 3 hours later the hand print was still there. I called and they sent up the most disgruntled man who, when I opened the door, did not even speak, he just walked in with his windex bottle and a rag, cleaned the glass and left. The following day my son and his 8 month pregnant wife were due in at 11:00. I went to the desk and requested an early check in for them. When they got in at 1:00 they were told there were no rooms ready for them. We sent them to our room so my daughter in law could lie down and rest and we went to sit in the lobby and people watch. While we were sitting there for 45 minutes I watched not one or 2 but 6 people come in and check in! By number 6 I asked why they were able to but my son was told that no rooms were open. MIRACULOUSLY a room instantly became available!
The entire experience was far less than what I would have hoped for from a major chain in any location. Posted by Karen Ryder

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannagetwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are very sorry to hear of the unfortunate set of circumstances surrounding your stay. We would very much like th opportunity to speak with you directly to see if there is a way to resolve the problems. If you would please call the hotel directly and speak with the Assistant General Manger we will do our best to win back your confidence in us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After a lengthy delay in our original plans and some frustration regarding the pre-pay no refund policy we had a great stay at the Holiday Inn By The Bay. From the shuttle service to and from the airport, to the front desk staff, we were met with very friendly and helpful service. We were provided with great ideas for day trips in and out of Portland, as well as local eateries for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Had a great time and Portland and would highly recommend this hotel for great location at a great price for Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and services. Thank you for posting the review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked there for a long weekend and it was just the best. The indoor pool was great fun, as well as the amazing views from the "bay side" room. The value for services was fantastic and we were able to walk to most locations and when we couldn't the taxis were easy & affordable.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND for family gatherings or romantic get-aways !

Room Tip: We recommend paying extra for the bay view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCee10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing recommendations to others. We appreciate it very much and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing