We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit dated”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

For a short stay, we found this hotel to be absolutely fine. The rooms are clean, and you can walk into the downtown area without problems. As a chain hotel, we didn't expect it to be charming and it wasn't: it looks a bit dated, it's very large, next to a big road, you have to pay extra for parking, you have to pay extra for breakfast etc. We didn't have a room overlooking the bay, so the name was a bit funny for us (the bay is actually not so close). But, all in all, if you don't expect to use this hotel for your special romantic getaway, it'll be OK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bababux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are sorry for your response to our property, but we do thank you for staying with us. We appreciate our guests and the feebback they offer us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    473
    177
    59
    33
See reviews for
222
458
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Location perfect overlooking bay as promised. Easy parking on site. Quick check in. Three fast working elevators. Friendly and active lobby with plenty of staff. Upgraded room because of priority club membership without asking. Clean room needing only a little dusting. Bathroom perfect with supplies, newer towels etc. Bed comfortable with clean quality linen. Noisy but working a/c. Extremely convenient location across from cross insurance arena. With walkable city you can spot hotel from many streets.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BKNYCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We thank you so much for posting your review. Our Priority Club members are very important to us and we appreciate the repeat business you provide Holiday Inns. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped off here on the way back to Boston from Acadia National Park. The hotel was as to be expected from a big hotel chain, but it was still nice to find a soap, hairdryer, etc. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. The staff were friendly but one person on reception did not understand what I thought were simple questions. Unfortunately there was some big event in Portland so accomodation was at a premium and prices had been increased throughout the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RooksArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The tourist season does bring increased rates as with any city. We do remain the lowest priced in the downtown area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were on our way to Bar Harbor and wanted to stay in Portland for one evening. The Staff was very accommodating. We were able to walk to the water, visit the city and have a wonderful stay. As it started to rain, the hotel arranged for a shuttle to the restaurant we wanted to visit for dinner and then they picked us up when we were ready to leave. In the morning, we had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel restaurant.
We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghackett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our services, and especially glad to know you will return. We look forward to it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I did a lot of research for the price I wanted to pay for a summer vacation in Portland and the Holiday Inn was a great price, especially to park there - much cheaper than any lots in Portland. When we stayed there is was wonderful. Everyone was helpful and personable. The breakfast buffet was a good value, delicious and the hours were "later" (until 11AM) which I appreciated. They even had soy milk. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The bed was terrifically comfortable, and the bay view was beautiful (the upper floors are better).
People have complained about the wifi, and I did have a small problem the first day, but calling the help line solved it immediately. The A/C fan unit is noisy, but you can shut it off and we were still comfortable.
We stayed there during a horrific rainstorm when the lower parts of the city flooded. We were glad the hotel bar was open late when we came in out of the rain!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myastera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for the kind remarks. Our staff is very pleased to know when they are appreciated, and your comments will be forwarded on to them. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. The service was great! Food was good. The room and bathroom was clean. They upgraded our room. Good location. Was able to walk to many places we wanted to go. Close to children's museum. Which was also very nice place. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amydarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your recommendations. We are appreciative and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location in a beautiful city. Indoor parking is a plus, even when the garage gets flooded by storms! Those are pluses. On the negative side:

As someone else has written, the wifi is awful. Very week signal. Business travelers might have issues. I found the room to be a bit dusty...there was a layer on the alarm clock. If you're tall, be prepared to stoop in the shower. Now, here's the kicker:

I was in the lounge one night, and went to grab some of the complimentary nibbles. I watched as the server brought out fresh veggies, and transferred them from his platter to the one on the table WITH HIS HAND. Check please...I'm done here!

I should have said something then and there, but didn't. Don't know why. Maybe I was in shock?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate the input you have provided and will immediately look into it. Being a large food and beverage provider this is clearly not our practice. Thank you for review and we appreciate the input very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing