We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Generic Clean Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location, Generic Clean Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Its a holiday inn, so you definitely shouldn't have high expectations. I would say that their commercials say they are renovating each hotel, but they haven't done this one. Didn't have a non-smoking room available due to a convention in town, but the smoking room smelled fairly clean. Room basic, bed comfortable. Clean but outdated. With a hotel like this, a basic continental breakfast would have been nice. Best part was downtown location, as they have few hotels within walking distance of main area. \

If you are younger and looking for a place to sleep after a night on the town, you can stay here with your significant other, and not have to worry about too much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveaGoodPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    449
    171
    56
    33
See reviews for
211
432
51
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

I agree with the other reviews that this hotel has a good location in town. It was easy to walk to the Old Port or downtown quite easily. The room was comfortable with all the expected ammenities. We had a bayview which overlooked many buildings and the water in the distance, and unlike some, I found the buildings themselves somewhat charming and reflective of Portland overall.

The parking is free, which is a bonus, but not all that great. The parking garage is extrememly tight, even for compact cars and we found it difficult to locate an open space. When we did I had to be let out because once the car was parked there wasn't room to get bags out comfortably. I could get over all that but there was only one entrance to the hotel from the garage and it was a hallway with three elevators and no other doors. I felt a little nervous coming back late at night with nowhere to go but wait for elevators to come.

My biggest complaint is that after we checked in we noticed the bathroom floors were not swept; there was hair and dirt in front of the sink and along the toilet. I called housekeeping and they came that night, but there was still hair on the toilet. We had our room serviced the next day and not only was the bathroom floor still not swept but our dirty towels were not picked up. I did mention this to the manager and she was kind enough to adjust our rate, so I would try it again knowing that if things are not as they should be, they will work with me to make it right. For that reason I would recommend it with disclaimers, hoping that it would better next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

After reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor my wife and I decided to stay at the Holliday Inn while in Portland. I am glad we did. The location is great, its a quick 5- 10 minute walk anywhere you want to be, Old Port, the Arts District, shops and restaurants. We had a drink at their Port of Call lounge and it was a much better setup than I would expect at a Holiday Inn.

The reasons I didn't give it 5 stars is because when checking in the girl at the front desk had a "get me out of here" attitud". She had no hint of a smile or on her when greeting us. Also, we got a Bayview room but was a little let down. Maybe my expectations were too high. We did see the water but mostly we saw Industry, such as industrial rooftops, parking lot, houses, Oil tanks and cranes from a work site. Maybe a different room would have a better view, we stayed in room 906.

In conlusion, I reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants value for the money, wants to be close to downtown and shops/restaurants and doesn't need to get pampered at say a Hilton, etc (not that there is anything wrong with that) :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

A good value for the location compared to other hotels. We had a good sized room with a nice view of the harbor and centrally located for shopping and restaurants in the wharf district. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced but a bit on the skimpy side. Parking garage is difficult to navigate in a big car, but parking is free and has good access into the hotel. Friendly and helpful front desk staff, and good at giving directions.
I used the business center, and it was well equiped. My non smoking room seemed to smell of smoke, but after we ran the fan in the room for awhile, the smell went away. The pillows were not the best, but I always take my own with me. Comfortable bed, but the linens could be better.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bgbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here. Lovely room with great view over the harbour. Location of hotel is very good and free parking a bonus. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Receiving our little goody bag on check-in was a nice touch. Only had breakfast once in hotel - so many places to choose from in Portland - but it was absolutely delicious. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Every once in a while you come across a Holiday Inn that is a hotel. This is one such, and it's worth paying for. The bay views are nice, rooms clean and large, and facilities good. The front desk staff were very helpful and courteous, and the concierge was very good at giving us tips on where to eat and drink. The in-house bar has a decent selection of beers, wines and spirits; if you are a member of the Priority Club you get special welcome bonuses that go above and beyond what most Holiday Inns give you! Location wise, it's within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. The large multistorey car park has low height clearance so watch out for those roof racks!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spitfiremkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

My boyfriend was attending a 3-day conference at the hotel, so I tagged along for a little bit of R&R. The Holiday Inn By The Bay was very clean, the staff were friendly (and extremely patient while helping me figure out some wireless connectivity issues with my laptop), and our king suite was immaculate and spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. We appreciated the free parking. The free lemonade and coffee dispensers in the lobby were a nice touch too. The location -- although not the most picturesque part of the city -- is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops in the Congress Street area. We ate most of our meals in restaurants along the waterfront, but we did order room service at the hotel one evening. It was also a short, pleasant walk to the waterfront district. Portland is a beautiful little city, and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a spacious, quiet, comfortable room for a reasonable price. Room service was good too -- yummy food -- and surprisingly inexpensive.

Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank julianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing