We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your Houskeeping expectations low...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2010

... and you won't be disappointed. BTW, you better use your room on their schedule, too! At hotel for 4 nights on business and needed the mornings to work in my room -- with the DND sign out. Housekeeping did not touch my room after the first night. I informed Front Desk who said they would inform Housekeeping Exec. After the second night, a note was slipped under my door at noon saying to call if I needed linens. I caught the housekeeper on my way out and the bed was made up and towels replenished but the toilet bowl was not brushed(!) After the third night, same thing. Portland is a nice small-venue conference city -- the views of the bay from the hotel room were exquisite -- but there are plenty of other places to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekonamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

Great view from our 10th floor room. The room was clean and updated, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was completely booked because of a conference being held there and also a Sheryl Crow concert across the street but our room was very quiet. As noted in other reviews, the parking garage was a bit tight but we always had success finding a spot by going to the bottom level. Service was very good from the front desk and the restaurant staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadyToSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights 10/17 - 10/18. Nice check in and with all reservation room requests met. 7th floror harborside room with great view. Nice walk to Old Port but close to many places on Congress Street.

Understand that rooms are being renovated as ours was dated with older style TV but we did not spend alot of time here. Staff were very accomodating offering to open gift shop after hours for Advil and offering waters for our ride home..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackf629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

At the far end of the waterfront area but not a long walk from anywhere. The view from the room was great!

Check-in: Not friendly or informative at all. She acted like we had intruided on her time. Other than that, absolutely no complaints.

Room clean, flat panel TV, comfy bed, GREAT Location!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Didn't book a hotel in advance and we saw this was close to everything we wanted to be near and it had free parking.
We didn't realize there was an event happening at the close by Civic Centre so the only room that was available was a handicap room. We accepted, knowing that the bed was only a full but that was our fault.
The room was clean and everything worked great. I did use the coffee maker in the morning but didn't have enough hands to take it with me.

We had to order a cot. This is NOT a room for two people. The only complaint I have is that the room needed more blankets.

The location was great, close to everything! We were also informed when we checked in that they provide a free shuttle to nearby locations and if you get lost or too tired to walk back someone from the shuttle comes to get you! I thought that was pretty cool.
The staff was friendly (even though I called down about 4 times to find out if anyone had cancelled a room with a bigger bed, or two beds) and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

rooms were nice and clean, and lobby was very nice also. People were very friendly and helpful. Very convenient to civic center, and beatiful area to walk around also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajenn1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel was close enough in proximity to the center of Portland that we were able to walk to the shops and restaurants. Decent hotel, but expected it would have been cheaper than $200 for a Holiday Inn... Overall, we were satisfied. Especially since breakfast was included!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilleO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £72 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing