We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clarion , disappointing.”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clarion , disappointing.”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Convenience hotel because its close to the bus station. So i over night so i could caught the early bus back to Boston.
That,s the only reason in think it was full.
I arrived at Logan airport ( $2 ) went to south station and ( round trip $ 36 ) from there on to Portland Maine. On the return i had to pay an additional $ 6 because i would be stopping at Logan airport first.
The information received was very helpful to me From the reviews. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank server35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience Server35. I'm sorry we disappointed you as that is never our intention. The Clarion stands by its Commitment to Satisfaction and we want to hear from you if you are unhappy with any portion of your stay. We strive to be the best we can be, so if by chance we fail to exceed expectations, please bring it to our attention immediately so that we have an opportunity to correct the situation.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    222
    128
    62
    36
See reviews for
156
187
45
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Nice clean hotel just off the 295 highway with easy access to the I95. Only minutes away from the shopping of Freeport, South Portland and 50 minutes from Kittery, Maine.
Hotel has a lovely lobby, large free parking lot, internet and wifi, coffee in the lobby but no continental breakfast. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and bedding. Quiet location with friendly staff. We booked through Priceline and got a great deal of $120.00 (high season rate) per night.
We would stay here again for it's easy location to the exits on and off the highways.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your review PMFHalifax! For guests looking to experience all that this area of Maine has to offer, we are conveniently positioned. We are a mere minutes from the big box stores of the Maine Mall or the boutique shops of the Old Port. Easily accessible from both I295 and I95, we are convenient as a home base for your Maine vacation or a stopping point on your way north or south.

We appreciate the fact that you made the time to share your experience and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel was in a very good location, clean and had a good restaurant for breakfast. Prices for all Portland hotels were high for the time of year but I got a good deal using Priceline. The desk clerk told us of a local Italian restaurant nearby and it was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you Casteeves! We appreciate your making the time to give us some feedback. We strive to offer a great experience that exceeds the price we charge. Value is important in these times and we will continue to provide just that. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I found the entire staff to very accommodating, friendly, and informed.
I would like to mention Blaine at the front desk as he was so helpful and patient with my numerous questions and needs. Very professional and yet warm and kind. I truly felt in good hands.
As an aside regarding my one breakfast... the chef and servers were wonderful. Personable and attentive.
Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for making the time to write Christy P! We appreciate your feedback and will make sure that Blaine and the food service team get your kind words. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After reading the other reviews on this site, we were worried about our stay here (which we'd booked on Priceline). However, we have nothing but great things to say about our experience. The room we stayed in (424) was very clean with comfortable beds and fluffy pillows. The bathroom in our room was entirely in tact (no problems others have mentioned) and the shower was hot and strong. Our son enjoyed the pool (which was was pretty chilly) and my husband enjoyed the hot tub. The only thing that seemed to need updating was the elevator which was slow and/or out-of-order for most of our 3-day stay.

They had complimentary coffee each morning and the staff were quite helpful. We took a cab downtown one night and they called the cab for us and gave us coupons for the service. While we wish we had been closer to downtown (it's a 5- to 10-minute drive), we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilmingtongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have just completed a significant renovation and I am pleased to see the positive impact it is having on the experience of all our valued guests. The imperfections noted in many recent reviews have been corrected. As I have in the past, I encourage all future guests to share their experiences, both positive and constructive with our team at any time. We stand by our Commitment to Satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and again, thank you for making the time to share your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I booked the hotel from Hotwire. Not what I expected. The rooms are old and the bathroom wasn't as clean as I expected. The bed were comfy but other than that it is not a 3 star hotel.
Even my son who's 10 said the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfields71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel staff were the best part of the hotel. They were friendly and very helpful. We got the hotel on Priceline and now I am thinking to never use Priceline again because location does matter and they push the boundries of the choice areas too hard. The hotel was OK but way too far from all the cute little shops and great craft breweries. We had to use cabs to go back and forth because drinking and driving through the busy streets is not a good idea. The cab drivers were great though and very helpful about where the best places were. Loved Portland!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildKate34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing