We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean, friendly, safe and economical home away from home”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A clean, friendly, safe and economical home away from home”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I am a partially disabled 73 year old resident of Southern Maine who twice needed to escape my home becausae of severe weather conditions, one of those times being the "Blizzard of 2013"....On both occasions I found the clarion Hotel to be the perfect place....The hotel was inexpensive, clean, well appointed, and very accomodating....Don Lema, the Guest Services Manager at the desk was friendly and helpful every step of the way, and other staff, such as Patrick and Geri were courteous and very helpful when I needed it....The pub-style restaurant, Pete and Larry`s, was equally friendly, service good, and very good food...The breakfast buffet is a meat-lover`s paradise, the 1/2 pound burgers exceptional, and the beer-battered fish and hand cut french fries fabulous...All things considered, this will be my regular home away from home when I need one...I enthusiastically recommend it.... Ralph Zieff 3.8.13

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlderHarvardgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks Mr. Zieff!

From Don, Patrick, Geri and the whole Pete and Larry's team, you are welcome back anytime! We appreciated having you here during the storms. Feel free to come in for breakfast or dinner, even if the weather is great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    222
    128
    62
    36
See reviews for
156
187
45
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Took a shopping trip down to Portland for March Break and needed to book a hotel room last minute. We rolled the dice and booked the room through Priceline (about $50/night) and were not disappointed. The hotel was very nice with a decent size heated pool. The staff were super accommodating and very friendly (even provided us with a bottle opener for our wine). Free parking and wifi were a bonus. The room was clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The hotel rooms do need a bit of updating, but it's normal wear and tear. Hotel provides the choice of feather or non-feather pillows on the bed (which was nice). Location was good and easy to find off exit 5. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks Tamara P!

We appreciate your positive feedback. Be on the lookout for some improvements in our guestrooms in the coming months.

I'm glad you came down to do your shopping. As you know we are pretty close to both the Maine Mall and downtown so you get the best of both worlds.

See you on the next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Last minute travel decision found me in Portland for a few days. Even without much prior notice, I was able to reserve my usual room, which was spotlessly cleaned and ready for my slightly early check-in. With the inclement weather, shuttle to/from the train station was greatly appreciated! The remodeled/relocated bar/restaurant was a welcome surprise. My only fault with it was the small size of the actual bar, in comparison to the larger size in the former location. Nonetheless, service and food/drinks were excellent. The front desk staff and management (especially Blaine) provided their usual high quality of customer service. Thanks, again, and I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaivenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you Kaivenice for the nice post.

Blaine and the rest of the team appreciated seeing you again. I'm happy to hear you liked the renovations to the restaurant. You are correct that our old bar was bigger, but there is plenty of lounge seating to accommodate the masses!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

From our check in to check out all the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was very clean and we enjoyed the large pool area. The restaurant, Pete & Larry's is right in the hotel and very convenient. The staff was also excellent and food tasted great & fresh. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely suggest it. Prices were very affordable as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABLPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you ABLphotography.

I'm happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities.

We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My sister had emergency spinal surgery and needed to stay at New England Rehab in Portland. Clarion is one of the hotels in the area that offer a medical rate. During my two week stay there, everyone was friendly and helpful. I felt safe and the room was very comfortable, A few nights I ate at the restaurant, the food was very good. They have a really nice breakfast buffet with omelet and waffle stations. There is an on-premise laundry room and even a shuttle service that took me back and forth to the hospital. It made a very stressful time in my life much less so, thanks to the staff at the Clarion Portland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you New England Traveller 99.

We know that there are few things in life more stressful than having a loved one in the hospital. Our team understands this and works hard to make our guests feel at home. The title of your post means more to us than you could ever know.

We hope to see you again soon (under less difficult circumstances of course).

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This stay was enjoyable, comfortable, with friendly staff.Excellent value especially in the winter, and with priceline, it was even easier on the wallet.

IWe don't recommend the restaurant, but they do have a pool and a hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for your post Adlai,

I'm happy to hear you found that your experience exceeded the value of the price you paid. I'm sorry your experience in our restaurant was not as you hoped, however. We are currently redesigning our menus for breakfast and dinner and hope you will give it another chance on your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Everything related to the people aspect of the Airport Clarion is awesome. The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable offering advice about the area. After a long drive days drive all we wanted was a nice plate of vegetables and we got it! We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cob salad as well as the presentation of the ceasar salad. The wait staff attentive and pleasant (we even met the chef who was also very nice).

The actual hotel is beginning to get a little run down, the pool and hot tub looked a little sketchy (and were already visibly painted and patched up). The exercise room had modern was well stocked and had new working equipment. Our room smelt a funny (a little too much air freshener in the bathroom – probably covering up another smell. The room was not as clean as it could have been. There were water stains on the bedside table and dust a visible layer of thick dust on the clock radio, added to the dated carpet and furnishings the room felt a little dirty. The bed was clean and was comfortable with lots of pillows.
The heater was a little too extreme in its hot or not settings and it was loud and had to be turned off to sleep. The setting is quiet even though you are close to the airport. The airport shuttle to the airport was very good. If you are leaving your car at the hotel and flying out the airport, upon your return your car will not be free of snow and warmed up nicely for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you JB George.

I appreciate the balance of your post. Our front desk and restaurant staff were pleased to hear they made a positive difference in your stay. I appreciated the candor of the constructive aspects of your stay as well.

I am most saddened by the fact that your car was not cleared and warmed up for you. As a standard, all guests who pay for the park and fly package receive transportation to and from the airport as well as having their cars cleared from snow in the event there are any storms while you are gone.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing