We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was another overnight stay and we got this hotel through a Priceline deal. Upon arrival we were a bit sceptical the exterior looks old and worn and when walking through the foyer first impression was that it was dirty due to crushed hips in the carpet which had not been cleaned up.
once we got to reception we found the service brilliant. Reception was friendly helpful and informative. Having arrived late we enquirer about restaurant facilities and found out that the kitchen closed in half an hour. Instead
of going out for dinner after driving all day "Shawn our bar tender sat us at the bar and we were able to order meals (they were really good) along with some great drinks before the kitchen closed. Our room was better then expected it was clean and very comfortable the king size bed was also comfortable. Our only advise would be not to be put off by the exterior as this place was a gem to stay in made particularly memorable by the service and attention given by its staff,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is full-featured and fully functional, but don't expect more. It has seen better days but since we paid < $100 per night using Priceline's name your own price, my expectations or requirements weren't high. I just needed a safe, clean, comfortable room for one night. They offer free parking, free WiFi and, if needed, there is a pool and restaurant/bar. Inside the room the carpet was worn, there was a water stain on the ceiling, the bathroom was small, the amenities were basic, and the bedding was so-so. The location was great, just off of Rt 295, only about 5 minutes off of Rt 95, and just on the outskirts of downtown. I wouldn't think you would walk into downtown but a short 5-10 minute drive puts you at the stadium, wharf/port area, or main downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

super friendly and welcoming staff.nice,comfy,spacious,supa clean & efficient room.all common areas we passed through were spotless.well done.we`ll be sure to contact you live and direct next time!!THANX AGAIN for making a couple rainy cold days more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FFEJRut_land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thanks so much for making the time to post FFEJRut_land!

We will be sure to bring the nice weather on your next trip! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The staff was very nice. The Lobby was nice but I thought the rooms needed a little updating. The beds were comfortable. They had free shuttle from the hotel to downtown which was very convenient for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you Joe K.

We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are working on a capital plan to help improve the quality of our guest rooms so please check back. If I may be of service, do not hesitate to call on me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is an old hotel in the downtown area of Portland. The room we had was very clean, the beds really comfortable and a good selection of pillows. The bedspreads were missing upon arrival and a call to the desk brought duvets to the room quickly. The reason given for the missing bedspreads was: The military are in the hotel from Monday to Thursday before departures, they have high standards and one requirement is that there be no bedspreads. Not sure I believe this explanation but hey, they brought them within minutes to our room.
The buffet is just okay and cost $8.95 plus tax and tip. It could be organized better with the chef outside the small room he cooks the omelets and eggs in. Chairs are warn in some of the dining area.
We received a warning under the door the night of tropical storm Andrea, warning us to keep everything away from the windows as there may be leakage. Wall paper and baseboard were off on one section of the corridor, but did not note this anywhere else. The air exchange did not work in the bathroom which was inconvenient.
Noted washers and dryers on the floor.
There are two elevators and the front lobby one is very slow.
Staff are very helpful and ask what they can do for you. We didn't use the pool but it was clean and a good size. There is a workout room as well with treadmills.
One advantage to the location is that it is just off the 295 which makes it quick to get to shopping areas or to the 1-95.

Room Tip: 226 was quiet and on the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just got home from a great stay at the Clarion. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The Front Desk Manager checked us in and was great, very friendly, and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfy. The breakfast buffet was more than I expected, with fresh fruit and made to order waffles and omelets. The breakfast staff were pleasant and efficient. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof504330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great staff, convenient location, nice rooms.

We had a hiccough with the toilet not working when we checked in, but they ended up giving us another room. The staff was top-notch and accomodated an early check in. Great location near the Amtrak station and not too far from downtown Portland. The rooms were nice and solid; nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertQ465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,715 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £65 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing