We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When my dad was a ICU patient at Maine Medical, they referred us to the Clarion. The staff, especially Mary at the front desk and the waitstaff at breakfast were just the best.

We will be coming back, but next time without the hospital excitement.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank BT80209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was filthy inside and out. There was dirt built up in the corners in the bathroom and the windows were dirty. The hallways and elevator were also dirty, not sure if they ever vacuumed them. One elevator did not work at all and the other didn't go to the 5th floor for over a day. At 69 years old I sure didn't feel like using the the steps.

The breakfast was disgusting. There was not one thing in the buffet that was eatable except for some fruit.

The maids all wore some sort of native garb with head shawls and you didn't know who the were wandering the hallways until i asked.

Room Tip: Save yourself disappointment and don't book a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NormS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable, we stayed 2 nights and found it convenient to drive to places we wanted to see in Portland. Staff was helpful and friendly. Restaurant in hotel is Ok but we found better in town, altho you do have to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a great hotel to stay at, once we found it. Conveniently located. It's not the hotel's fault the city or state put in some horrible rotaries and signage. Thought I was just fine on Congress Street until it became a one way. I was less than 1/2 mile from the hotel and it took me 20 minutes to get back to it. Get good directions ahead of time and you'll be fine! Hotel was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHSinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were just here for a night after a conference in Portland. The location puts it close enough to downtown Portland that it's a very quick drive/bus/cab to get there, but not so close that you're stuck in traffic and can't park.

The iced tea/cookies/water on the way in were a nice touch after a very long drive to get there.

The room was clean & well-tended and the hotel was quiet and easy to get to sleep in.

Breakfast is $10, and I did not try it, so no feedback there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice big room with HUGE windows! Nice flat screen, mini fridge, microwave, desk and comfortable overstuffed chair and ottoman. Lots of things to like about this Hotel.

Slow wifi, sometimes very slow. Too bad. Hotel is going through a major rehab, check before you book. I was on 6th floor, rehab was ongoing on 5th floor and quite disturbing.

I stayed in this hotel for 18 days in order to work on a project. I chose a room on the sixth floor thinking it would be quieter as most people want lower floors. Turns out it wasn't visitors that caused the noise, at first at least, it was the housekeepers. Typically 2-3 housekeepers were working on my floor each day. They didn't seem to understand that all of their loud conversations in the hallway could be heard by everyone still in the rooms. Walls have sound insulation, doors don't. And typically, they didn't bother with how quiet their voice was. Constantly yelling back and forth to each other. Or just standing in the hall talking on their cells loudly.

I complained to management about this on my fifth day at the hotel, after having repeatedly left the hotel during the day to go to someplace quieter, like a park or library. I was assured they would be immediately talking to the housekeepers. It seemed to be better after that, but not completely so, there were still bad days.

Probably the worst weekend I've ever spent in a hotel the last few days I was there. A large group of people checked in and most of them were on my floor. They set themselves up a little party space at the end of the hallway with coolers and alcohol cases all set up. On Friday they were all in the hallway, Along with several rooms at that end of the hallway until about two in the morning. At midnight I called down to the front desk and found that a couple others had also called. Someone came up and told them they needed to move into the rooms and keep the doors closed. This made it only slightly better. People were in and out of the rooms and into other rooms constantly, and even walking down to the elevator to go down to peoples rooms on the other floors. And of course while talking (or screaming) along the way. Walls have sound insulation, doors don't. Saturday was pretty much the same, despite a couple calls I made to the up desk earlier. Clearly these people were preferred Guests as our complaining wasn't taken seriously.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We wanted to stay in between downtown and the mall. This is a perfect location if that is what you are looking for, We stayed here before when it was the Doubletree and it was a lot nicer then. It is still a very solid hotel, but showing some signs of age. The hotel does have a slight odor about it now. The rooms are clean, neat and quiet. Which is what we were looking for on this trip. The pool is very nice, however, the jaccuzzi is far too small for a hotel of this size. The excersize room is also too small and ill equipped. Staff is friendly and helpful. The price was also a selling point for us on this stay.
The hotel is centrally located, reasonably priced, quiet and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmadmarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,713 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £66 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing