We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine trip 9-13”

Northern Lights Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Presque Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maine trip 9-13”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went to this northern Maine area to visit old Air Force base and to Canada. Very nice owners, super friendly & helpful with knowledge of the area, real saints and enjoyed talking. Hotel was older but in good shape, nice room with neat antique type bathroom. Hotel was close enough to town for a variety of food and other needs. Only stayed one night as was travel with time constraints, but would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor did not notice much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mapleton, Maine
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel in February on a college visit trip, before then the hotel was really a run-down shack. I believe it's been bought and is now staffed by a new manager. It looks great from the outside and the rooms are very attractive for a small motel in Presque Isle. There is free wireless internet and phone calls, and the TV is alright. The room was clean and smelled just like a normal motel, nothing too special to it. Don't expect any amazing views depending on where your room is, across the street is eyesores. There was no breakfast in the morning which was a shame. The motel is in the middle of nowhere, about 3-4 miles from the Presque Isle town center, although it's great for any UMPI college trips, as it's very close to the college. It is very competitively priced to the Budget Traveler Inn nearby. There are only about 15 rooms, and during holiday and festival times they do fill up fast so it might be best to make reservations. Depending on what your needs are in a hotel room, this may be the perfect place for you.

Room Tip: This hotel is one of the closest to U.S. Route 1, where large trucks tend to go 70-80 mph at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson maine
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My sister disappeared in October 2005. I live in Bangor now so when I came to Presque Isle one weekend while we were looking for my sister I wanted some alone time for a few of us so we rented a room at the Northern Lights. I enjoyed my stay, they charged us half price and they were pleasant and shared in our sympathy with us. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. some are not aware that it's having roof over your head and a warm place to sleep that counts not how much you pay to have luxury to SLEEP.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailmcnerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed here to snowmobile and left at 6 am, the owners are rude, the place smelled like dog, and it was way overpriced!!
We went to the Econo Lodge across the street and payed considerably less for a bigger room and got a free breakfast included plus they were right on the trail didnt have to cross the highway.
This wasnt our first trip to that area we have been snowmobiliong for over 20 years and have been to Preque Isle at least 20 times.
Would never ever in a million years stay there again

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adambrianBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmerk5, Owner at Northern Lights Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
As of December 31st, 2009 the motel has new owners.

They have been working diligently to correct any issues that may have been left by their predecessor. The onsite pet grooming facility has been removed. There is no longer the smell of wet dog.

Front desk staff is kind and courteous and have going through training to handle any and all guest issues.

We now offer microwaves and refrigerators in every room. Free hi-speed wireless internet is available for no charge. Cable TV is included. Free local and long distance phone calls (Continental US only). Barbecues are available for guest to use in the summer. There is a myriad of games both indoors and out so that you will never be bored. Check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Presque Isle hotels

Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2006

I stayed at the Northern Lights Motel back in April 2006. For the price, it was more than adequate. It's located on the south side of town on Route 1; it would be one of the first places to stay that you'd find coming up 1 from the south. It's an old-style motel, but outside of the bathroom, my room seemed to have been recently redecorated with an angel motif (mostly nice, but a couple of the paintings looked kind of as though they'd come from a paint-by-numbers set!) Everything in my room was clean. Everything worked in the bathroom, but I wouldn't say it was a thing of beauty--the window looked out on a rough looking trailer, there is only a shower (no bathtub), and it certainly hadn't been remodeled in a while. They do not have online booking, but from what I could tell they had the lowest price in town of any AAA approved facility. One nice feature they offer is wireless internet access, so I used my laptop with that. The color television also worked well and had a good assortment of basic cable channels. The staff is pleasant enough. They do have a select set of rooms available for people traveling with pets, and they also have a used car rental service on site. It's a handy location for someone visiting UMPI or the Aroostook State Park. It's nothing particularly remarkable, but I'd be happy to stay there again.

Helpful?
11 Thank Badgerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presque Isle
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
7.7 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
15.1 mi away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Northeastland Hotel
The Northeastland Hotel
#2 of 5 in Presque Isle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel

Property: Northern Lights Motel
Address: 72 Houlton Rd, U S Route 1, Presque Isle, ME 04769-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Presque Isle
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with 1 or 2 beds Two pet-friendly rooms One suite with full kitchen One cabin with king-size bed and full kitchen No smoking Amenities: Wireless internet, cable TV, free local and long-distance phone, refrigerator and microwave Outside sitting area with BBQ grill, picnic table and gazebo (summer only) Snowmobile/ATV trail access 1 mile from city limits - quiet out-of-town location ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing