We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of an old fashioned, homey, ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Northeastland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
Presque Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kind of an old fashioned, homey, ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Rooms clean & comfortable, food in restaurant excellent, rooms near front of Main street are qieter than one would expect, in fact we prefer them to the rooms facing the parking lot. Have spent a number of nights here, first due to the locatiopn, then because of comfort, price, hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noray9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
14
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I am currently staying at The Northeastland hotel and am pleasantly surprised. It is an older building on Main st and I wasn't sure what to expect. The desk clerk was quick to say hello and acknowledge me, she was helpful with all of the information that I needed. The rooms are huge and extremely clean. I was astonished this morning to see that my car was cleaned off after the snowstorm we had last night and I had the best omelet with fresh cut homefries this morning!! As I sit here in the business center watching TV on a flat screen I must say I will be back. Kudos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off Main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The rooms are okay if you get a room towards the rear of the building.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOXOFHampden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed there 2 nights for a wedding. It was OK, nothing special in terms of accomodations. There was a discrepancy in the rates charged, and the front desk staff was confused about the correct room rates. Apparently, it's less for a single king than a single queen??? The rooms were clean and some have newer furniture. The restaurant serves a good breakfast with very reasonable prices! Drinks in the lounge are also very inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dathorpe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at the Northeastland Hotel for 2 nights during a business trip.The location is ok: close to all key places such as University of Maine Presque Isle, Northern Maine Community College etc. The rooms facing Main Street are noisy due to daytime traffic on Maine Street. At night is it fairly quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and responds fast. While the hotel has had some renovations the building overall is old. This manifests itself in e.g. the electrical wiring. You have to keep the room entrance area light switched on in order to have power on most of the room's outlets. Not convenient if you want to e.g. charge your cell phone over night. The rooms are large and clean but the furniture is a bit dated. The internet connection is fast and reliable. Ample parking in the back of the hotel. Restaurant is ok. So overall an ok place to stay but if you want a nice and fully functional environment this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Here's what's happening in Presque Isle hotels: used to be the Northeastland was the best hotel option in town. It is right downtown on Main St and has been there for a long, long time. I've stayyed there a couple times a year for about ten years, and it reminded me of hotels from when I was a kid in the 70s. Quite clean and in perfectly good repair, but dated decor. A few years ago, a brand new Hampton Inn opened up nearby. I've stayed there and it is very nice, and everything you'd expect from a brand-new national-brand hotel. Since then, and maybe because of this new competition, the Northeastland has invested quite a bit in improving and updating the common areas and they look very nice. There is a restaurant, the Sidewalk Cafe, and a lounge called Coppers (to which you get a half-price drink coupon on check-in). Bottom line, this hotel is in an older building for sure, but everything is in very good shape, is clean, much is new, the food is good, the staff is very friendly and the price is very fair.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed with my family at the Northeastland over the Fourth of July weekend. It was absolutely wonderful! Staff at the front desk, cafe and lounge were all very helpful. Rooms are beautiful and clean. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonMom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presque Isle
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
5.9 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
14.8 mi away
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Perth-Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northeastland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northeastland Hotel

Property: The Northeastland Hotel
Address: 436 Main St, Presque Isle, ME 04769-2601
Region: United States > Maine > Presque Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northeastland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Northeastland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northeastland Hotel Presque Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing