We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought we'd see tigers in Maine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Ben and his staff hosted our reunion of extended family and took care of every need. Not only is the house a perfect journey back in time, so are their manners, style and care for their guests. We felt as if we were special guests, not visitors or customers. Ben knows the area and exactly where to go to find the real treasures of the area and avoid the tourist traps, bad food and crowds. He even found a wildlife preserve for us to tour that included petting wolves and feeding a baby tiger. Never thought we'd see tigers in Maine. He found us the best person to cook and host a lobster and clam bake as well as a private boat for a water ceremony (he knows everyone in the area and they all like him) and his staff found us a florist at the last minute. He's knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the nature preserve surrounding the property and rightfully so. Breakfasts were fun but you won't like them if McMuffins are what you seek.

Room Tip: Ocean view, with the accompanying surf sounds, are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Check-in is between 3-5 PM and we were greeted by Margaret, who gave us some great tips and recommendations for local food, crafts and activities. We stayed in room 7 in the Captain's House, which overlooks the backyard and parking area. We slept with the windows opened and the sounds of the ocean in the distance. Great night's sleeps in a homey atmosphere. The room had a queen-size bed and two chairs There was space in a dresser and hangers behind the chimney for clothing. The bathroom had a shower and there was a hairdryer provided. The rooms are small, but comfy for sleeping. The house has a large living room and seating outdoors if you just want to hang out. Breakfast is vegetarian with a cold fruit puree, bread and main course. We had eggs florentine and pancakes the days that we were there. They have various seating times and tables for 2 to 8 in two dining rooms.
The two houses are directly across from the private beach and a short drive to various villages. We heard about and ate at Corea at the Lobster pound there. Best Lobsta roll ever. We shopped in Winter Harbor at the various artist run shops. We also ate at Chase's, very good and Fishermen's Inn, pricey and we had coffee and desserts from the café in the welcome center. We also stopped in at the Nautica Pub outside of the Park and had beer and a light meal with the locals and stopped and got some interesting jewelry, right next door at the Wild Wave (if the door is open, she is open) Everyone in all of these places was very helpful.
The property has interesting primitive trails that are very cool to explore, but you need boots as there are many damp areas along the way. The owners provide trail maps for nature lovers to use while exploring. There is a map for the trails, which are marked. The only trouble we had was when crossing the cleared area where the power lines were, we eventually saw markers on dead tree diagonal from our exit from the forest. We highly recommend these trails, but the mosquitos were very hungry, so wear sleeves and something on your head along with repellent. The inn is also near the Acadia Park and we discovered that this part of the park is not on Acadia's map, so it is very quiet and there are few people here. We practically had the place to ourselves. There is a bike loop here, but about half of it is on a road outside of the park.
All of these things together made this one of our best vacation experiences and we plan to return to the inn and visit some of the areas we missed.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent. Do take advantage of the trails on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We will be returning to this special inn often. Slept in a four poster bed overlooking the beach (rm #8) with 3-course gourmet breakfasts,different every day, including decorated cold melon soups, rich homemade cofffeecakes, and strata or thick French toast, delicious pancakes etc. - all scattered with edible flower petals. Superb, friendly staff and owners.
We bought a set of the inn's plateware at nearby Lee Glass, visited Bartlett Winery for their storied oak-dried Pear wine and semidry Blueberry wine, spent time at Schoodic Point, the more infrequently visited part of Acadia National Park, and toured the nearby park itself, with its carriage trails, Cadillac Mountain, Jordan Pond house popovers, and scenic loop ride.
Local restaurants are top rated. The picturebook village of Corea, two miles from the inn, is a must for lobster rolls, views and gifts. So much to see and do, including miles of nature trails on land preserved by the inn. Very highly recommended!

Susan and Wes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanRayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ben Walter and his wife Sonja Sundarum have given a great gift to guests and to the Downeast Maine community by preserving and maintaining approximately 200 acres of unspoiled coastline. The magnificent sand beach is unique in the area because the ocean water is actually warm enough to swim in. The gardens at the inn are glorious and the general ambiance is relaxed and welcoming, with friendly staff and gourmet breakfast. An added, and delightful, bonus is a fabulous concert hall which houses a Steinway grand piano and is home to many well known performers, including Grammy-award winning musicians, noted scientists and authors as part of the Oceanside Meadows innstitute for the Arts and Sciences concert and lecture series which takes place every Thursday evening throughout the summer. If you are the kind of person who values Maine's rapidly disappearing, unspoiled coastline and enjoy world-class music then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I loved room 4, so charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeirdreMcArdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My boyfriend and I are a young couple and we wanted to have a romantic trip while hiking around Acadia and experiencing the "downeast" Maine food and culture. I cannot say how excellent the Oceanside Meadows B&B is! We've been to quite a few B&Bs up and down the NE coast, and I can honestly say this one was the best time we've ever had. The food is 5 star and the cook, Cookie, is welcoming, warm, and introduces each dish to you (all with an edible flower, or her homegrown lemon thyme). There are three courses (!) with homemade bread, breakfast soup (we had mango lime soup and it was great) and a main dish as well as fresh squeezed juice. Even better than the food, was the location, environment and people. Ben, the owner, is charming. He takes the time to help you plan your trip, offers just the right amount of information, and makes your stay feel like home. He even connected with us instantly over our work. We told him we wanted to meet people, and he introduced us to another guest (ha, the reviewer beneath me). We ended up talking to Elizabeth over breakfast and even dinner together each night, and bonded wonderfully. Also it should be stated the Inn has A HUGE PROPERTY with trials, an oceanfront and beach, gardens, and beautiful ecological environments. The room was excellent (#4) and we heard the waves each night, saw the sunrise each morning. Wouldn't change a thing.

Room Tip: The top floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a treat. Beautiful view , comfortable room (#5) and bed, great food. Best characteristic: THE PEOPLE!!!. Smart, friendly, informed-- from the youngest temp to the owner himself.
have busy busy schedule, but if I can get back to Maine I will be back to this place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We immensely enjoyed our week's stay at Acadia Oceanside Meadows. The staff provided exceptional service, warmth and hospitality. Fresh flowers lent an artsy and lively feel to a wonderfully wholesome and comfortable room; terrific gourmet breakfasts, and the beauty and quiet of being with nature away from commercialism were replenishing. We enjoyed the rich quality of every second there and felt as if we were treated like royalty. There was a lot of "heart" given to caring for impeccable details that make a place special. If we return to Maine, we are definitely returning to Oceanside Meadows. Thank you again to everyone on the staff for being such top notch and wonderful people. MK & Dave

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 531MKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn

Address: 202 Corea Rd, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings! I, Ben, and my wife, Sonja, would like to welcome you to Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn. We encourage you to discover the serenity and hospitality of Schoodic Peninsula, located in the heart of beautiful Downeast Maine. The buildings of our Inn stand on 200 acres at the head of Sand Cove in picturesque Prospect Harbor.At Oceanside Meadows we have two very specific goals: to ensure that you have an extraordinary experience staying at our historic inn and to introduce you to our ever-evolving 200 acre nature preserve. Explore our sandy beach, rocky shore, dunes, meadows, forest, ponds, streams, and pristine salt marsh environments, which offer a great diversity of habitats and wildlife. My wife and I, who have a background in science and conservation, are committed to the preservation of this extraordinary place. Oceanside Meadows marries all that you would expect from a historic inn that has been open since 1860 with an unparalleled opportunity to explore and to understand Maine's environment and natural splendor.We invite you to join us here for a relaxing respite on the ocean. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf on our private sandy beach. Individually appointed bedrooms are lavishly furnished with your comfort in mind. Our rooms feature ocean and meadow views, private baths, flowers from the garden, and the refreshing sea breeze. Enjoy hearty gourmet breakfasts in our gracious dining room as you watch the lobster boats ply the Atlantic just yards away. Feast on wild blueberry pancakes, specialty omelets, homemade breads and other delights. We are glad to cater to vegetarian and other dietary needs. Our unique sandy beach is a great place to have a picnic, to lie in the sun or to take a dip in the brisk Atlantic. Explore the rugged coastline, tidal pools, and lighthouses; spot an eagle or osprey overhead; try sea kayaking, yachting, fresh water canoeing. Head out on a real Maine Lobster boat, see the seals basking in the sun, whales breaching, the puffins at Petit Manan Light, on your way back in to the dock pull lobster traps, truly immersing in the real wonders of the Downeast Maine coast. Try the trails of Acadia National Park at Schoodic 5 mins away or our own just behind the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn Maine/Prospect Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing