We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elsa's Inn On The Harbor
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Megan is very knowledgable of the area and accomodationg. Breakfast was great and the blueberry muffins were out of this world. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Will definetly return and highly recommend. A wonderful place to just kick back and enjoy life especially Maine.

Room Tip: We liked "Elizabeth's Room" your own private entrance on side of porch. Just wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonesConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband & I visited Prospect Harbor, ME where we used to live & stayed at Elsa's Inn. Megan, the innkeeper was most obliging & prepared 3 different breakfast dishes to enjoy. We stayed in Dorothy's Room which is located on the porch overlooking the working harbor. It was clean and relaxing! In the morning we saw & heard the seagulls. Schoodic Peninsula, the quiet side of Acaida National Park, is a great place to visit in Downeast Maine!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a great two night stay at Elsa's. Megan and her mom Cindy were very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We stayed with our 10 month old son and even Megan's son got in on the hosting by playing with Maxwell and keeping him entertained. According to Megan's son, Dad is a better cook than mom. If that's true, he must be a gourmet chef as Megan's culinary abilities were very impressive. We had a delicious home cooked meal every morning. Megan gave us some great tips for sightseeing if the weather was great or had overcast. She even suggested great children's books from local authors which we ended up happily purchasing from an Ellsworth toy store.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willaa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Great place! Clean, nicely decorated, homemade soap from shop down the street, great breakfast and views! Very accommodating and courteous. I was impressed by their attention to detail. The plush monogrammed towels were fab. Spa robes. Etc. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarartcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Megan, her mom, and the rest of her family make guests feel right at home at Elsa's. It's a great location if you're planning to visit the portion of Acadia National Park located on the Schoodic Peninsula. The inn sits right across from a working harbor. The harbors at Corea and Winter Harbor are also within a few minutes drive. While in the area, try Tracey's on Rt. 1 for cheap lobster in the rough...nothing fancy...just lobster that was caught earlier in the day...$9 for a 1-1.5lb lobster with slaw. You can BYOB too. Be sure to visit the Grindstone Point area of Winter Harbor to see the fabulous summer "cottages" from an era gone by. The national park loop, 12 miles, is fabulous...lots of scenic ocean views...bring your camera. Be forwarded, the sidewalks roll up at 8:00 even in the peak summer season. We'll be back to Elsa's like so many other guests.

Room Tip: Elsa's room has a view of the harbor and a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purt1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My sister's and I have been visiting Elsa's in July for the past 6 years. We stay three nights and enjoy our visit each time. Megan is delightful and an excellent breakfast chef. She creates amazing breakfasts each morning..... conversation with other guests flows freely It is a small B&B that is quiet and nicely decorated. Wonderful sunrises across the harbor in the morning as the fisherman head out for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

There were 3 of us, each with a differing view. One loved it, another liked it and the third was not happy with the location. The facility is quite nice. However, a traveler should be aware that the B & B sits right on the highway and thus for some of the day there is traffic. Also, it sits across from a lobster wholesaler and so until 8 p.m. a truck with its refrigeration system running sat across the street. Someone who is concerned about privacy might want to avoid the two front rooms. Personally, it didn't bother me but others might feel differently. Finally, as with almost every B & B at which I have ever stayed, the coffee needs work. Bunn coffee makers should be banned!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEHDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elsa's Inn On The Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa's Inn On The Harbor

Address: 179 Main St, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5003
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: £113 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elsa's Inn On The Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Elsa's Inn On The Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsa's Inn On The Harbor Maine/Prospect Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing