We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Devil is in the Details”
Review of Town & Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Town & Lake Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rangeley
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here because the Rangely Inn was closed due to ownership issues. Nice location on the shore of Rangeley Lake. now the details:
1. No extra space in the room
2. Bath room small
3. Driveway could be automotive testing ground for suspension systems
4. Uneven walking surface at front door to room. (Really watch your step or take a fall)
5. Windows painted shut. Therefore no bathroom ventilation
6. Tiny closet
7. Heat not working on cold spring night
8. No air conditioning if it gets hot
9. No phone in room
10. TV worked well
11. If the room front door and the bathroom door opened at the same time you could be injured if standing in the right (wrong) place
12.Smoke detector missing from frame on wall
13. Wall clock not working
14.Handle missing from bed side table drawer
15. Same peanuts beside the bedside table before and after house keeping service
16. No hot water at all on second day.
17 Owner reduced charge for second day due to lack of any hot water.
We will pass on second visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Location could not be better if you like fishing. You can put your boat on the water right there and boat slips are free of charge for the guests. Owner is always friendly and ready to help. I was staying there few times and always was happy. Cottages are much better but cost more. This place is not for everybody. It is not 4 star hotel but great for the price and location.

Room Tip: Get a cottage if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachCoveManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were 5 guys who were going fly fishing for two days at the end of December. We were unable to get a cabin as we had booked really late and ended up with a two bedroom "suite". One bedroom had two double beds and the other had a kichenette with a double bed. In between the rooms was a bathroom.

Overall, the location was good and was right on the lake. We watched some sea planes take off when we got there. The town of Rangeley is really pretty and has that small town/village feel. There are some great places to eat in the area and the bowling alley was an awesome change of pace for us.

I would have liked to get a cabin, but what we had was good enough for the 5 of us to crash the two nights we needed to after fishing. Hopefully if we do this trip next year, we will book early enough to get a cabin.

Room Tip: Try to book a cabin. The ones I saw seemed to be in better shape than the motel. We stayed close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SliderNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A beautiful spot. Our room's back door opened right out to the grass banks of Rangeley Lake. The town has some excellent cafes and restaurants. The room was comfortable and well equipped. You can sit on the lakeside porch and watch the float-planes land and takeoff from their base next door!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eljayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Great cabins with awesome lake side views. Free kayaks and canoes to explore the lake. Ducks keep us entertained. Plenty of wood for camp fire and smores. Not the cleanest but was exactly what I expected of a mountain cabin.

Room Tip: Cabin 24 was where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skikid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I went with a group of friends and was really pleased how fantastic the location of this place was-right on the lake and what a view! The cabin had everything we needed and roomie. The owners were wonderful and very welcoming. If you have a group and want to stay in a friendly-comfortable place-this is it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Liked the location, beautiful scenery, nice little town, people are very friendly.
The cottage my friends and I acquired while there was sufficent/ clean for the numbers, very rustic... loved the theme, however, the was an odor of urine. That being said, there are memos on the walls stating, towels are for human use only, so, assuming animals stay with owners, of course (I dont oppose), the odor reflected feline urine.
The other 2 rooms we had, were ajoining, sharing a common bathroom, thought that was odd, but we pulled it off and managed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20Blake440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
0.5 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
167 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
134 reviews
24.3 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Rangeley
110 reviews
15.9 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 2 in Stratton
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Lake Motel

Address: 2886 Main St., Rangeley, ME 04970
Region: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rangeley
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Town & Lake Motel Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing