We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a Maine day!”
Review of Country Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Club Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Have a Maine day!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 with friends sharing 2 rooms which were cosy and had everything we needed. Beautiful and tranquil location with excellent and friendly service from Marge and her team. Excellent breakfasts (try the blueberry pancakes) and it is worth dining in the restaurant of an evening as the food and service was top notch.

Free Wi-fi in the ski lodge style reception area with open fires and mounted moose.

Brilliant hotel. Have booked for next year already.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent an extended weekend at the Country Club Inn in February. Margie and Steve are wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Perfect location for skiing or snowmobiling and the food is excellent. We ate breakfast and dinner here each night. Steve's pot roast was the best we've ever had. Don't miss the blueberry pancakes either. It wouldn't be fair to fellow TA readers if I didn't honestly review the room. Although it was beautifully situated in the main house facing the lake, the beds are horribly uncomfortable and the pillows are terrible. It was the worst night's sleep I've ever had. And the shower is even worse than the bed. The walls in the rooms are so thin, we could hear the man next door snoring (and he wasn't a loud snorer at all) and we couldn't even nap before dinner due to hearing the child next door screaming and whining (she was a loud monster.) FYI- no TVs in the room if that matters to you. We didn't mind at all. Although we love the location, the hosts, and the food, we would hesitate returning any time soon due to the discomfort of the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We always appreciate our guests reviews. We are sorry you had to put up with other noisy guests...we always try to promote the Inn as a comfy, quiet spot. And if you can let me know what room you were in, I would like to check on the bedding. We are always looking for feedback. If you do decide to join us again, we would love to lure you back with a 25% discount for your next stay. Just mention Trip Advisor- March 2014. Thanks Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Inn is very clean, comfortable and homey. Check in was easy and were in our room in no time. Decor is very period and I loved looking at the nostalgia. The bar and lounge are cozy and even has a pool table and many games. The breakfasts were perfect to get us going for the day! I'm sure the dinners are excellent as well and hopefully we'll dine there next time. We will keep them in mind for our next trip up and also refer The Country Club Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahaynes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We always appreciate our guests reviews. Look forward to seeing you another time...and we will get you a nice table in the dining room to try out Steve's dinners! Thanks Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Country Club Inn last weekend. It was a very nice stay. The rooms were a little cold, but the warm staff made up for that. Great location. Slightly out of town, but a quick drive to downtown. We had the breakfast package which was excellent. Quick service and a nice choice of food. A plus is that there is a bar right in the Inn. We didn't need to venture into the cold winter night air (-5 below) to have a drink at the end of the day. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We always appreciate hearing the comments from our guests. Thanks goodness we have the warm fireplaces and food & beverage...it has been an extremely cold winter. Today is the first normal weekend we have had this season...sun, decent temperatures and snow on the way. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Country Club Inn whether its winter, spring, summer or fall! Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Inn, it was a" shot in the dark" going there because we had already had abad experience with another Inn in Rangeley. However,the moment I stepped inside the Country Club Inn I was pleasantly surprised. It was a gloriously sunny day and our room looked right over the lake towards snow covered Saddleback. After a day skiing we had a drink by the fire and a delicious dinner. The Inn is homely without being "twee" you really feel at home.Breakfast was included and it was great, a fabulous home made roast beef hash. We have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good morning...thanks for your compliments about the Country Club Inn on Trip Advisor. This is our 30th year at the Inn, so Steve & I must enjoy what we do. We are very lucky to get a steady stream of interesting, fun and enthusiastic guests, and most all of them return year after year. And now, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn! Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Because of our enjoyable visit last year for our New Year's Ski Vacation at Saddleback Mountain, we decided to return again this year. We were once again delighted. Marjorie is a very welcoming innkeeper and her husband Steve is a super chef. Their New Year's buffet was simply outstanding. Marjorie does a great job of decorating the Inn for the Holiday Season with a special touch for the New Year's celebration. It was very good value and the wine prices were very resonable. The included full breakfast was a great way to start the day. We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks Fred & Dawn...it was a very nice party! We enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you next New Years (if not sooner). Margie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have been going to the inn for dinner for over 30 years--our most recent dinner was in September and everything was outstanding. We go there on a regular basis in the summer. It is our favorite restaurant in Rangeley for ambience, quality of food and service. The bar is cosy and sitting on the deck is beautiful--we look forward to the summer of 2014. The living room is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m and c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margerino, Owner at Country Club Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for the compliment on the food and ambience at the Country Club. It is Chef Steves' 30th year as well managing the kitchen ...we are blessed to have him around. Even I still enjoy his meals after all the years. Look forward to seeing you next summer. Margie Jamison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
2.4 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
146 reviews
19.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
98 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Inn

Property: Country Club Inn
Address: 56 Country Club Rd, Rangeley, ME 04970-4439
Region: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated little resort overlooking Rangeley Lake and surrounding mountains. The Inn offers comfortable rooms with views, sumptuous dinners & breakfasts in our restaurant, a cozy pub and spacious living room with 2 fieldstone fireplaces & game area. Enjoy swimming pool, lawn games and golf on premises … and nearby boating, fishing,and hiking. Wintertime offers downhill & cross county skiing, snowshoeing and miles of snowmobile trails. Truly, an Inn for all four seasons! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Club Inn Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing