We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Time!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from the dock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from the dock
View looking up from the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Sunset from the dock
View looking up from the lake
Entry way with reading nook behind dining table
Looking into kitchen from living area
Fireplace behind the dining area
Downstairs bedroom
Clawfoot tub and shower
Antique sink and toilet
Upstairs bed on left side. Bureaus on opposite wall
Upstairs bed on right side
Private dock (older dock to left has been removed)
Boat rack. Paddles and life jackets in laundry room
Neighbors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rangeley, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terry O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Time!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife and I had a very relaxing time at Tarry-A-While celebrating her birthday. The cottage was beautiful and Loon Lake was pristine. Most of our time was spent on the lake in the canoe (we saw & heard the loons many times), cooking on the BBQ grill & relaxing on the screened-in porch. The cottage had everything needed (and then some) and Steven made sure that we were all set, from directions to water in the fridge. We will most definitely return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
It's always a pleasure when guests have the vacation they were seeking. I knew they were coming to celebrate and I"m thrilled that being there met their expectations. I greatly appreciate their "vote of confidence" on the amenities they found at the cottage, their opinion of the lake and the performing loons. They left the place in great shape and I hope to welcome them back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHbeargui...
Newton, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, perfect location ”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great cabin on Loon Lake. Location is prime as it's far enough from Rangely to be away from it all but close enough to drive in to get a signal or grab a bite. Dock has a great view especially at sunset. Lake is very quiet since it's a no motorboat lake. Cabin was clean and has all the amenities you would need for an extended stay. The owner was VERY cordial and responsive to every question I had about the place. I would absolutely come back to stay here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
These were people who truly appreciated the uniqueness of this particular spot. They treated the property very well and left it in great shape. Their consideration was much appreciated and I would urge others to welcome them as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanH30...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I stayed 4 weeks at this rustic, relaxing, and modestly priced camp on Loon Lake. Having previously spent many summers at another camp, we found the new cottage more than equal to our needs and expectations, the queen bed was perfect, and the second-level guest bedroom enabled relatives to visit. Everyone enjoyed the screened front porch, the comfortable chairs inside and out,the quietude and wonderful view of the woods and the beautiful lake. Firewood was plentiful and came in handy on numerous cool mornings. Working in the small kitchen didn't feel cramped, and the laundry was an added plus. We give this place our highest rating, along with many thanks to Steve, our super landlord.!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
As I said previously, anyone would be thrilled to welcome Norm and Maxine. They are a pleasure to know and host, and I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming them back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody G
1 review
“Beautiful Loon Lake!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Relaxing and peaceful, calming and comfortable, our visit to Tarry-a-While on Loon Lake in Rangeley, Maine
was a delightful step back in time.
Absolutely fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Many thanks and please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fall at Loon Lake”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really had an enjoyable visit! Cottage is a three season gem. Well stocked kitchen and comfortable bed. Enjoyed having to stoke the fireplace when it got a little nippy. Steven, the owner was always responsive to our inquiries and very gracious in all aspects of our stay. The town of Rangeley was exactly what we had hoped for--slow paced, great food and just enough to do. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2017
Many thanks for the kind words. I'm very happy that your visit to Loon Lake was all that you had hoped for. I loo forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa L
South Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying here is a need, not a want!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This rental only added to our amazing Maine getaway. The location of this cabin will not cease to amaze you, if you can bear to leave it to explore the area. I could not have picked a better place to stay! We took the canoe that is kept on premises out one morning and were deafened by the quietness (not complaining one bit!). Alas, the loons interrupted and we were once again (it's easy to see a moose!) amazed by something we had never witnessed. It was an added bonus to have a town so close (a beautiful 5 minute drive), yet our own solitude in that we were on a smaller lake with maximum 8 cabins neighboring throughout the entire lake. There are many, many attractions nearby (our favorite is a tie between the 80+ miles of trails and the numerous hills/mountains) and you will not go hungry if you choose to eat out. Please, if you could choose anywhere to stay in this area, pick this cabin on Loon Lake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2017
It's always a pleasure when people appreciate a place that many believe to be truly unique. For those seeking beauty, solitude and at the same time much to do if desired, this setting offers that opportunity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing