We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redclyffe Shore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robbinston
ri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The views were beautiful. To look out the picture window of our room we could see the rise and fall of the Bay of Fundy. Just amazing!!! The room was very clean with a.c. and big plus for us, no animals allowed!!!! The staff was friendly and gave us information on things to do and places to see. We will be back again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 19 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank 24theroad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed during the week of July4th.....was such a delight in every way.The rooms were spacious and very clean. Had a magnificent view off the deck of our room and was blessed with glorious weather the whole time we were there. The owners were very informative about places of interest in the area as it was my first visit to Maine and made me feel right at home. The restaurant is quite a unbelievable experience in itself....The best seafood I have ever had anywhere. The waiter Justin, made you feel as if you were the only customer there although the restaurant was full. You must try the Seafood Chowder. Decided to eat there every night as the food was so good. The décor is so romantic and attention has been made to every detail with great love and care. I especially loved the lights glowing softly at sunset. So glad that we found this "diamond" in the rough! Can hardly wait to return there next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms I believe have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank SherrySmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adairsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Don't miss out on the seafood chowder as well as all the other delicious seafood here(such as fresh scallops, and haddock with lobster sauce), because we found it to be the best not only in the area, but the whole State of Maine as well. The restaurant is very charming, romantic and full of ambiance, with great views across the bay separating Maine and Canada. Attention has been given to every detail, right down to the table settings and impeccable service by the family. The motel room was very clean and roomy with beautiful views across the bay, as in the dining room. We were there on the 4th of July and there was no problem with noise during day or night, and water was not tepid at all ....both of which were mentioned negatively in an earlier review. Owners were charming and extremely accommodating, willing to help out in any way that they could. We look to visiting again in the near future. Next time, we want to try the Raspberry Haddock that Kerry N had.

Room Tip: Pick ANY room because they ALL have a beautiful view across the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Carleton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The rooms are clean, the food is great and the staff is very welcoming. There is easy access to the St. Croix and there was a beautiful view from our room. The resturaunt also has a beautiful view of the water along with great service and delicious food. I had the Raspberry Haddock with rice and veg and my husband had a 16oz hand cut steak with potato and veg, After dinner we even stayed for a few drinks considering we only had to walk to our room. We were informed they are opening a lounge area for a cold beverage or some casual bites. The rooms were spotless and room service was spot on. We had no problem with hot water or wifi. Short distance to the town of Calias and the Canadian Border. We went to Eastport for the 4th of July Parade and wonderful firework display they put on yearly. We would reccomend Red Clyffe as a great place to stay/eat while visiting Downeast Maine.

Room Tip: The patio room we stayed was magnificent but it seems all the rooms would have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Kerri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbrook, me
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

There aren't a lot of places to stay in the area, so it's hard to make a fair comparison. It was the only place with no reports of bed bugs, which was a plus. The room was large. Reviews of tepid hot water were spot on. The office said there was no wifi, although you could connect to a page indicating it was still on demonstration mode and not yet available. The tv was pathetic. Everything from a driving rain to a light mist seemed to be knocking out the satellite signal leaving 1 channel at best to watch. You should know that the walls seem to be paper thin. We were repeatedly woken up by noise all around us. Somehow despite being a single story, it always sounded like someone running on the ceiling over you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in another motel owned by this family for years in Calais until they sold the property. That motel reminded me of the "motor court" era of travel, when families piled into their model T's or whatever motorized vehicle they owned, packed a picnic lunch for the road (since fast food was not invented yet), traveled all day and then tried to find lodging before the sun set. There are still some places like that, but they are getting fewer as shoreline properties are getting developed. While the Redclyffe does not have any little cabins from the motor court era, it is managed with the same friendly, local style. We now drive out of our way to stay there. We'd rather experience the friendly family atmosphere than stay in a traditional motel that is more convenient.

The central attraction is the amazing house. I am not an architect, but I would guess it is from the Victorian era and has as much gingerbread detailing as will fit. It is a real head-turner when you are driving by. Attached to the backside of the house is the restaurant. From the time we leave our house in the morning, we are dreaming about having dinner there 12 hours later. It is worth it. My favorite is the broiled scallop and fillet with lobster sauce. The pieces of lobster in their sauce are so big, I think they should call it broiled scallop, fillet and lobster plate with sauce! I do not recall the exact hours the restaurant is open, but it is for dinner (definitely not breakfast).

Between the old house/restaurant and the shore of the St. Croix river is a parking lot with a horseshoe shaped series of connecting motel rooms. All of them are ground level, with the entry door on the parking lot and the other side offering a gorgeous waterfront view of the water. The rooms are spacious and clean. They are not new, but that's OK with me, as it adds to the small town rural Maine family run motel atmosphere. I am very comfortable there.

I do not recall if I succeeded in hooking up with their internet signal or not. Given the more relaxed pace there, that did not seem to matter to me. If I was staying for an extended period of time, that would be a more important factor, but we stay there both going to and coming from Canada. It has become a welcomed tradition for us and we look forward to it every year.

I put down our most recent stay, which was July of last summer. We have stayed at the Redclyffe for the last 2 or 3 years (twice each summer), but before that we stayed in their other motel (prior to them selling it) for at least 15 years. They take their business seriously and will do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: We do not have a favorite room because all the rooms offer a great view, and all the rooms we have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Our room was spotless, large and had a beautiful view of the St. Croix River. With limited options in a very small town, we decided to have dinner in the motel's large main house. We made the right choice! It is truly a family affair with the owner and her daughter doing the cooking and the grandson serving. The food was fabulous and the specialty drinks delicious. I had a creamy seafood meal with a light pastry topping. The dining room is filled with lovely English china and resembles a quaint tea room. We sat at a corner table overlooking the St. Croix River. Our server was a young college student who gave us information about the area. He was gracious and very efficient. His mother and grandmother could not have been nicer. They shared information about the ship building business in Robbinston, Maine so many years ago. The main house was the home of a ship builder which was interesting to me because my ancestor was a ship's carpenter in that very town. We had a great experience staying at the Redclyffe Shore Motel. It is a great price for a very clean room with nice owners. Keep in mind that your cell phone may pick up Canadian roaming charges - we needed to alert our cell phone provider which is common in this area. Discount comes with AAA membership which the owner cheerfully intormed us. We would definitely stay here again when traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from highway overlooking the St. Croix River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank VineyardKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinston
3.1 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
14.7 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redclyffe Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redclyffe Shore Motel

Property: Redclyffe Shore Motel
Address: Blue Star Memorial Highway, Route 1, Robbinston, ME 04671
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Robbinston
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robbinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redclyffe Shore Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Redclyffe Shore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redclyffe Shore Motel Maine/Robbinston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing