We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yellow brick road”

Farnsworth Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating Maine's Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America's greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 15,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yellow brick road”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are members and travel especially to visit this and other museums on the Maine Art Trail. The special exhibits in the Wyeth Center are always and attraction: N.C. Wyeth this time. And we were unexpectedly interested in the Wizard of Oz show. Great gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    135
    26
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real jewel”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Who would have thought that a small town of 7,000 would have such a wonderful art museum. If you enjoy art at all and are in the Mid-Coast Maine area, this is a must see. During our visit they had a special showing of the Wyeths including pieces from the Brandywine Museum in Chadds Ford, PA. Having had the privilege being given a private tour of the Brandywine several years ago, I especially appreciated this show. We spent over two hours here and could have stayed longer. Not only were the works on display wonderful pieces, but the explanations of the production of the pieces and the explanations of the studies Andrew Wyeth made for his final works were fascinating. These provided a much deeper understanding of how he worked and the effort that went into his art. The permanent collection was amazing, as well. This is definitely a museum we will visit again if we come back to this area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in NJ
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Off to see the Wizard & Wyeth”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have to confess it was the Wizard that brought me here! Wyeth was just the icing on the cake!
12.00 to get in, it is such a lovely space. The staff is very helpful & clearly love what they do. Make sure you leave enough time to enjoy it all there is video to watch about the collector (Willard Carroll) & one of the munchkins. I wish I had more time to watch, but we came later in the day & they close at 5. So off to see the Wyeths Both Andrew & N.C. are featured just so wonderful to see their work up close! N.C.s paintings were in the church. You walk through the courtyard, there is some sculpture there & cross the street to the church, again just a gorgeous space. Keep in mind no pictures allowed.
There is of course other art to see, a dress made of shells & a quite interesting dimensional painting of a cat & a gorgeous photo art painting by Richard Estes, i believe. A very lovely afternoon looking at all this beauty! It is quite a large space, multifloored, but there are elevators.
The gift shop is wonderful, lots of tie-ins to the Wizard of course, but beautiful cards & very different toys for kids & wonderful jewelry. I could not resist cat Charlie Harper note cards! Last time I was here I got his cardinal ones.
The Wizard collection is here until 3-2-14, N.C. until 12-29-13 Andrew only until fall of 2013 so get a move on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitsaattheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Thomaston, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must See in Maine!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A world class collection of art starting with the Wyeths and reaching Homer, Nevelson, Bellows and Indiana. Easily seen in 2 hours, the Wyeth Annex is a short walk away in a converted church. Take the elevator in the annex for a eye-catching, and comfortable, surprise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaurafromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem of a museum”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

All Wyeth paintings just outstanding. I love these small museums...nicely curated collections. The church across the way
also very well done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtngirlMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing