We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LimeRock Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rockland Harbor Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
US$141
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Inn(Rockland)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
250 Main Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$186
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
554
35
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
35
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrank pjturret roomb bwonderful hostsricotta pancakesfox islandmy husband and ifront porchfarnsworth museumother guestsrockland areaat homequiet streetshort walklook forwardbreakfast was deliciousgreat recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Limerock Inn is the bed and breakfast to go to for ultimate luxury. The attention to detail is unbelievable! When we arrived, we were cordially greeted by Frank. He gave us a tour and then upgraded our room for the same price, which is unheard of in all of our traveling days. All rooms are gorgeous so an upgrade was not necessary though very much appreciated. Snacks, bottled water, soda and coffee are available any time of the day. There is a computer, printer and wi- fi, so those who need to be connected have the access.

The Inn is 2 minutes from downtown yet in a neighborhood of green lawns and large houses.The Farnsworth Museum, galleries, shops, restaurants and an ocean boardwalk is just minutes away.
A short drive brings you to other local attractions. We went to Rockland Lighthouse which is at the end of a long jetty, and also Owls Head Lighthouse which is at the end of a short path and has a great view.

The inn breakfast is fabulous and filling. We had coffee, juice, delicous homemade lemon muffins, eggs and sausage. Frank is a great morning conversationalist. There is some professional photography by P.J. displayed on the wall outside the kitchen. A visitor can see Frank and P.J. love what they do and are very good at it. We left with a couple parting gifts, sample bottles of local artisan olive oil and vinegar from Fiore (located downtown) and a "green" Historic Inns of Rockland bag to keep us green. 

We have never stayed at the same place twice...........I am now thinking we may break that rule after staying at the Limerock Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCL-Coolidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Plus: Old victorian exterior and some retained victorian characteristics inside.
Negatives: My room was the turret room and it was unfinished with the floor unfinished with splatters of paint. Tub had hair from previous guest(s). When I called this to owner's attention it still was not cleaned properly. On a noisy street with a lot of traffic. Not much to see or do nearby. Breakfast mediocre.
Summary: Apart from the Owls Head Transport museum which can be seen in a few hours and is well worth a visit this town is dead. I always wanted to spend a night in a turret room of an old victorian but this is not the place try it. Rooms are way overpriced for the level of finish the house currently exists in and sorry but I hold cleanliness as the uncrossable red line. Try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Might be quieter in the back of the house but why are you really staying in this town at all?
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00justthefacts00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpjwalter, Owner at LimeRock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

At LimeRock Inn, we seek to consistently exceed our customer’s expectations. So, it is disappointing when we receive feedback that we failed. We take pride in operating with no outside staff. Thus, we take full responsibility for our shortcomings as an owner-operator facility.

As to the issue in the bathroom, this particular guest room has two bath fixtures (a claw foot tub and separate oversized shower). When the issue of a stray hair was presented to us as being in the tub, we cleaned it. In hindsight, we may have cleaned the wrong fixture. For this, we apologize.

While the floor in the Turret room may not have been to this customer’s liking, it is (in fact) an original architectural feature which we’ve chosen to leave intact. During the Victorian era, rooms were often finished with wood floors and area rugs. It was commonplace for owners to finish exposed wood in a higher grade leaving the center of the room with rough, unfinished wood.

We have purposely positioned the area rugs in this room to leave a small portion of the unfinished floor exposed. If it was not to the satisfaction of our customer, we’re sorry. But, we feel this bit of quirky is both preserving history and informative about daily life 100 years ago.

In 2009, Rockland was named “Editor’s Choice” and came in second place in an online poll for Budget Travel’s “Coolest Small Towns in America” contest. In 2010, Rockland was named one of 12 Distinctive Destinations by the National Trust for Historic Preservation for its authentic and thriving downtown. Anchored by The Farnsworth Museum, Maine Lighthouse Museum, and the 2012 addition of Maine Coastal Islands National Wildlife Refuge Visitors Center, Rockland is a vibrant New England coastal city located on Penobscot Bay, home to the world’s largest historic schooner fleet.

We welcome all feedback from guests. As we often say, we want to hear the good and need to hear the “not so good”. Our only regret is that the guest did not bring these issues to our attention in the moment as to alleviate them at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My first trip to Maine and first stay at a B&B was an amazing one! Even off season the city was a great place to visit with plenty of restaurant choices and a nice view of the water. The Inn was within walking distance to downtown and Frank and PJ were excellent hosts. They gave me and my wife excellent restaurant choices, hiking trails, great conversation, and a wonderful breakfast. A great experience in every way. Thanks guys!

David and Becky Waldstein

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

What a wonderful stay at the beautiful LImerock INN!!! Frank and PJ have thought of everything to make your stay one of a kind!! The beautiful and comfortable GRand Manan room welcomed us with open arms and the huge jacuzzi tub and fireplace added to the warmth and luxury of the room!!! Their knowledge of the area both near and far made our weekend getaway great. They were spot on with their restaurant recommendations and also their hiking spots and rainy day suggestions!!! (actually snowy day!!!!) Flat screen tv's, hairdryers, coffee and beverages at your disposal, free WIFI, they have it all!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths!! The turret has a clawfoot tub and a number of rooms have jacuzzi tubs!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catKittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our second trip to LimeRock Inn was even better than the first and that was fab! Frank and PJ are, as ever, attentive hosts and go out of their way to make your stay memorable.The Inn is ideally situated within walking distance of Main Street which has much to offer, even in March. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: All good, just take your pick of what is available.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar&Milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews