We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limerock Inn”
Review of LimeRock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LimeRock Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I found the Limerock "accidentally" while searching for an inn in the Rockland, ME area. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be. The building is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. Frank and PJ are perfect hosts...so helpful and friendly. The food was excellent! We stayed in the Petit Manan room, it is their smallest room but my wife and I had no issues with it at all. I enjoyed my book and cigar in the peace and quiet of the gazebo...visited daily by a frendly gray cat. The Limerock is definitely a very high recommendation. We will be back!
Tony and Suzanne

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first visit to the LimeRock Inn and we can't wait to return! The house is beautiful inside and out. The landscaping front and back and great. The deck is clean and comfortable, perfect for sitting and relaxing. Inside the Inn is spotless with plenty of room in the common areas. The innkeepers are wonderful and very friendly - they do everything themselves! They helped with any planning and recommendations we needed. Our room was nice and everything was in good working order. It was hot when we stayed at the inn so the air conditioning and ceiling fan were nice to have. The breakfasts were delicious with just the right amount of food. They happily accommodated my dietary needs. The innkeepers do the cooking and serving which add a very nice personal touch. The inn is located with a few minutes walk from downtown and the waterfront. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poltalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our third visit in four years at the LimeRock, each year to participate in the Bicycle Coalition of Maine's annual Lobster Ride and Roll bicycle ride to support BCM. Frank and PJ have everything just right, making this among the best B and B's in the country, in my opinion. Breakfasts are terrific and are made "gluten friendly" when needed for those with gluten intolerance without making one feel you are missing out. Frank and PJ accomodated our early start time on the second day with an "early bird" breakfast; much appreciated. Beds are comforatble, rooms are immaculately clean, and Frank and PJ are truly part of the Rockland community and a rich source of information and recommendations. Among the best B and B's anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I live in Maine, but often stay in Rockland for events at the Farnsworth Museum. This is the second time I have stayed at the Limerock Inn, and I find it to be one of the most cozy, and beautiful places I have stayed. Each interior is unique, but stays with the overall theme of Victorian Maine Island rooms. The food is delicious, starting out with fresh fruit and either the inn's own special brew of coffee or tea. One morning the meal included orange ricotta pancakes as the entree, and another morning there was a lovely zucchini quiche. The garden is quite lovely and there is a little gray squirrel who likes to flit about the yard. PJ and Frank are wonderful to talk to and made a great effort to make every guest welcome and understand the lay of the land. I have stayed in many B&Bs across the country and this one is my favorite so far.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the LimeRock on our way up to Acadia NP. Frank and PJ were very gracious hosts and had good recommendations for things to do both on the way to and at the park. We were in the Garden Cottage room - the room was impeccably clean (very important to me!) and very comfortable. I really liked our own private entrance into the room as well as the view of the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was delicious, and carried us through until dinner. I would highly recommend LimeRock Inn for anyone looking for some R&R in the Rockland area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stimpy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Badly in need of of a restful vacation, my husband and I chose to stay at the Limerock Inn for 5 days. We took a bit of a chance, never having been to Maine, and knew by the morning of the first day that we had chosen well. Our turret room was large, comfortable and quiet. It was sparkling clean and felt like home instantly with comfortable furniture, a large bathroom with a shower and plenty of space to unpack for 5 days. The entire house is comfortable and Frank and PJ served up large, healthy breakfasts that were delicious! They gave us excellent advice on restaurants and interesting places to go. The little touches (cold bottled water, sodas, snacks and tea available at all hours) made it all even better. The inn is located a very short walk from the quaint downtown streets of Rockland and we walked to several restaurants for our meals. Rockland is the perfect place to stay on the midcoast. It's fun to explore the towns north and south and the many hidden coves along the peninsulas. Frank and PJ felt like old friends to us when we left and we cannot wait to return to our room at the Limerock Inn for another restful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is an old home which has been turned into a B&B. Frank and PJ are the owners and very friendly. It's a great location if you're in Rockland. Our room faced the street and was rather noisy but it was large and had a nice large bathroom. I longed for some pillows that weren't foam. One morning for breakfast we had yogurt with fresh fruit and scrambled eggs baked in a ramekin, but the other morning was a bit too sweet for me. It was white chocolate macadamia nut scones and vanilla, cinnamon pancakes. If you're interested in watching movies I saw they have a very large selection you can use.

Room Tip: There was one room downstairs that overlooked the garden which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 614foodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpjwalter, Owner at LimeRock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We value our customer feedback and appreciate your taking the time to complete a review of our property. Thank you for the overall positive review. We've noted your two concerns and just wish you would have brought them to our attention while you were here.

1. Noise - We were initially unaware that this was the result of construction traffic using our neighborhood street to access an overnight construction project downtown. We brought that to the city's attention, and it has been stopped.

2. Breakfast - We offer a multi-course plated breakfast each morning alternating entrees between sweet and savory options. Please know that we would have been happy to oblige with a savory option both mornings of your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us and providing feedback.

Sincerely,
Frank & PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,049 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.2 mi away
Lindsey Hotel
Lindsey Hotel
#4 of 8 in Rockland
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LimeRock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeRock Inn

Address: 96 Limerock St, Rockland, ME 04841-2945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range: £117 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LimeRock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockland's first bed & breakfast is tucked away on a quiet side street encircled by a wraparound porch and landscaped gardens. Step back in time to a world of relaxation in comfort and elegance in a beautiful coastal ME turreted Victorian mansion turned B&B. This exquisite example of Queen Anne architecture is reminiscent of the gracious lifestyle of a bygone era. But don’t worry, we offer the best of both worlds having packed in modern appointments like gourmet food, complimentary guest pantry, luxury bath & spa amenities, complimentary wifi, and more. That’s why readers of DownEast magazine chose LimeRock Inn as the “Best B&B in Maine” two years in a row! Come and experience it for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your LimeRock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeRock Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing